RSS

My adventure into the supernatural

06 Feb
Psychic

Psychic (Photo credit: antoine_schmitt)

Daily Prompt: Choose your adventure. Write a story or post with an open ending, and let your readers invent the conclusion.

I didn’t know he was psychic at first. My internal psychic radar doesn’t work as well when I’m tired, especially when my face is behind the lens of a camera, and I am surrounded by a great deal of noise–and it’s not like there are a lot of real psychics running around. So when I finally heard him say my name out loud I lowered my camera and looked toward him.

I was standing in the middle of a crowded country music bar, taking photographs of the local band who had been noticed by some hotshot from Atlanta. One of the drawbacks of being a psychic is that you often have to tune out or tone down your psychic senses when you’re in a crowded room, otherwise you’re overcome by every single nuance, vibration or noise. At least it works that way for me. My head would feel like it was ready to explode if I let it all in when I’m in a crowd of people. Being telepathic and telekinetic, as well as precognitive has its drawbacks.

“Burgess?”

“Can I help you?” I asked, trying not to sound impatient. I do my best not to sound snarky when I’m interrupted while working just in case it is a potential client. I don’t make any money as a psychic, but I do make money as photographer, and my photography business is still a one woman job and I’m not competely out of the red yet.

I took a deep breath and smiled at the young man who was standing in front of me in a pair of faded jeans and a black t-shirt, black Converse, and black baseball cap. He radiated fear. I could feel it flooding his body. He also glowed with psychic ability. My grandmother used to call it the sight, but my father calls it the “psychic vibe.” Whatever label people choose, the simple truth of the matter, at least for me, is when I’m within close proximity to someone who has real psychic ability I can feel it. It feels like a pulsating hum inside my head, and then they radiate a pale blue glow.

The young man looked tired, I noticed, as if he hadn’t had a good night’s sleep in days, maybe even a week. His almost black shoulder length wavy hair and his blue eyes stood out against the sadness I saw in those tired eyes. Too much sadness for one so young.

Okay…there is the beginning…Help me with some of the rest….. Any and all ideas, thoughts, comments are welcome.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2013 in Creative Writing, DPChallenge, writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “My adventure into the supernatural

  1. purpleborough

    February 6, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    Maybe tomorrow, I will come back and write. I am tired tonight.

     
  2. eof737

    February 10, 2013 at 3:45 am

    Burgess, I see great adventures in the horizon. You will be traveling to a distant country soon.

     

What do you think?

 
Daily (w)rite

A Daily Ritual of Writing

Catherine, Caffeinated

Writer, astronaut, skinny - Catherine Ryan Howard wouldn't mind being any of those things.

craftedincarhartt

a blog about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Life of a teenage photographer..

Burgess Taylor

Writing and Reading with Coffee in Hand

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Lockman

stuff i tell my sister

Who do you call or text with everyday "stuff" that occurs? Your sister, your mom, your best friend? That's what this blog is about, "stuff I tell my sister"... Great books, photos, music, new ideas, product reviews, exercise and health info, rants & raves and random life thoughts. (from an Oklahoma gal to you♥)

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Writers Write

Write to communicate

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Rebekah Wolveire

Me and My Writings

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

An unflinching view on refusing to be beaten by MS

readful things blog

An opinion on everything literary

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

The Seeker

In between times ...is NOW.

Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Spilled Ink

Where Ink is Splattered All Over the Page...

Emilie Hardie

Writing dystopian political thrillers since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

Restitution

A Story of Survival Against All Odds

things she said

{ observations on life, work, and play }

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

septemberspace

A great WordPress.com site

Nine Pages

A reader’s reviews, a writer’s fiction, a witness’ reflections

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Rising Woman

Writer and Author. Canadian who loves living in Poland. Mother of 2 boys. Non-practicing alcoholic. Life Coach. Cancer survivor. World traveller. Coffee-lover. A work in progress. All these things are me.

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

Michelle Smith - Writer

I don’t know the meaning of life, but I know the meaning of MY life. And it’s this: write. Write about it all – the good stuff and the bad; the pain and the triumphs. And do it whilst drinking damn good coffee. That's all I got.

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

