RSS

Undo, erase, delete

21 Feb

Today’s Daily Prompt, Undo, says, If you could un-invent something, what would it be? Discuss why, potential repercussions, or a possible alternative. 

After a great deal of consideration, I finally figured out what I would un-invent.

GPS ladyMy first thoughts were: nuclear weapons, chemical weapons, pollution, war, the voice that resides in your car or GPS, plastic surgery for vanity purposes, fast food, ball point pens (which I absolutely hate)…But people had already posted about some of those and I didn’t want to be repetitive. I loved the post about the ball point pens, and spell checker…most definitely would un-invent them, as well as nuclear weapons and fast food, and I cannot stand that irritating voice when you open your car door and it says “Door ajar” or the even more irritating voice that comes from the GPS “Turn left…” I’d definitely un-invent that.

So what would I un-invent if I could un-invent something? And why? Prejudice. Politics. Sure. I’d definitely un-invent those things. Plenty of wars have been fought over both. But that’s too in depth for me when I’m only about to finish my first cup of coffee. Instead I’ll un-invent those damn games that everyone keeps trying to get me to play on FB. I don’t play them. I don’t want to play them. I wish people would quit inviting me to play them. I don’t have time to play them. Many people I know do, and from what I can gather they are a bit addictive, and I’m already addicted to coffee, chocolate, and cigarettes. What the hell?

I would probably un-invent the additives and shit that they started putting in cigarettes that make them so damn harmful. My ancestors were tobacco farmers, and back in the DAY, a long time ago, cigarettes weren’t harmful like they are now. WHY? Because people didn’t put all that shit in them. Stuff to keep them lit. Stuff to keep them from getting stale. Etc. So, if you want to smoke, roll your own. I’d say. I know I need to quit, but I’m not ready yet. I enjoy smoking, I just don’t enjoy health risks or the smell it leaves on everything, which is why I now have an electronic one with cartomizers so that I smoke less real cigarettes and will eventually quit. Quitting cold turkey won’t work for me, I’ve tried.

So now, I’ve listed 2 things I’d un-invent. Maybe I’ll think of some more, but for now I think I just need more coffee and another cigarette.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2013 in DPChallenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Undo, erase, delete

  1. TammyeHoney

    February 21, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Loved your blog as I sit here smoking and sipping my coffee while reading this lol…so agree with you. Thank you for the ping back also.

     
    • Lissa

      February 21, 2013 at 12:43 pm

      You’re so welcome!!!!

       
    • Lissa

      February 21, 2013 at 12:48 pm

      Raising my coffee mug to you!

       
  2. Multifarious meanderings

    February 21, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    Totally agree on the FB games, it drives me nuts. As for cigarettes, you caaaaaaaan give up! (take it from an ex-smoker…).

     
  3. Robert

    February 21, 2013 at 2:31 pm

    Hi. Car has voice? I am Deaf, I would prefer the alert thing on dashboard with lights on it. Like old cars has.
    Voice cars? No thanks! I’d have no idea if car is talking to me! LOL :)

     
  4. purpleborough

    February 21, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    Loved this post! I no longer smoke but remember how it felt to have that first cup of coffee with a cigarette. Hate the FB games and posted: I DO NOT PLAY GAMES on my timeline. Hate GPS…I ended up in a parking lot behind Lowe’s in Natick, MA one winter. I could go on but you covered a lot of ground….good for you.

     
    • Lissa

      February 21, 2013 at 4:07 pm

      Thanks.

       
  5. Mini Naeem

    February 22, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Reblogged this on Mass Media Journal.

     

What do you think?

 
Daily (w)rite

A Daily Ritual of Writing

Catherine, Caffeinated

Writer, astronaut, skinny - Catherine Ryan Howard wouldn't mind being any of those things.

craftedincarhartt

a blog about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Life of a teenage photographer..

Burgess Taylor

Writing and Reading with Coffee in Hand

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Lockman

stuff i tell my sister

Who do you call or text with everyday "stuff" that occurs? Your sister, your mom, your best friend? That's what this blog is about, "stuff I tell my sister"... Great books, photos, music, new ideas, product reviews, exercise and health info, rants & raves and random life thoughts. (from an Oklahoma gal to you♥)

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Writers Write

Write to communicate

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Rebekah Wolveire

Me and My Writings

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Because nobody said how many white coats I would need.

readful things blog

An opinion on everything literary

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

The Seeker

In between times ...is NOW.

Daily Echo

Sue Vincent ~ Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Spilled Ink

Where Ink is Splattered All Over the Page...

Emilie Hardie

Writing dystopian political thrillers since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

Restitution

A Story of Survival Against All Odds

marginalia and such...

{ formerly things she said }

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

septemberspace

A great WordPress.com site

Nine Pages

A reader’s reviews, a writer’s fiction, a witness’ reflections

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Rising Woman

Full-time & Best Selling Indie Romance Writer (under a pseudonym - a girl needs her secrets, right?). Canadian who loves living in Poland. Mother of 2 boys. Non-practicing alcoholic. Cancer survivor. World traveller. Coffee-lover. A work in progress. All these things are me.

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

Michelle Smith - Writer

I don’t know the meaning of life, but I know the meaning of MY life. And it’s this: write. Write about it all – the good stuff and the bad; the pain and the triumphs. And do it whilst drinking damn good coffee. That's all I got.

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 344 other followers

