RSS

21st Century

25 Jun
A Phone Toy Story, ds200

A Phone Toy Story, ds200 (Photo credit: macattck)

I went with my mom to Goodwill on Saturday to see if we could find a used stroller, walker, and/or playpen for me for when my grandson is over. What we found was a little Fisher Price phone. The kind that looks like the old rotary dial phone. We got it. He already has a little phone that looks like a cell phone. When I saw it the first thing I thought was that kids from the newer generations have no real idea of what a rotary dial phone is. The joy of talking on the telephone while trying to unravel the cord. The sound of the number as it dials.

So the Daily Prompt for today is:

Do you belong in this day and age? Do you feel comfortable being a citizen of the 21st-century? If you do, explain why — and if you don’t, when in human history would you rather be?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MODERN.

Texting on a qwerty keypad phone

Texting on a qwerty keypad phone (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I feel a bit lost sometimes. I have no idea of how the hell to use Twitter, though I have an account (at this moment I have no idea of what my user name is, lol). I can use Instagram but just barely. I have a smart phone that I don’t utilize all the functions for. However, most days I do wish I had a dishwasher. So I guess it just depends on what types of technology we’re talking about as to whether I think they’re really a convenience or just something that is driving us further and further into what I tend to think of as the “downfall” of modern technology.

I still remember when you had to get up to change the channel on your television. Or when putting your own music together was on a cassette and if the radio station had commercials you had to hit pause, or when microwaves and then VCR‘s first came out. So I guess there are some things I’m not comfortable with in the 21st century–so much has been lost in personal communication that there are times when even though we’re linked in, so to speak, I feel like there’s a link a missing. What happened to letters? What happened to talking to someone on the telephone instead of texting? Texting is impersonal, but I utilize it because it’s easier sometimes.

“Thanks for the coffee this morning.”  I texted to my husband, though if I were up on text lingo would probably be more like “Ty 4 coffee AM.” or something to that effect. I wonder if people realize how their texts really look to someone who actually pays attention to the difference between you, you’re, and your…

"Technology has exceeded our humanity"

“Technology has exceeded our humanity” (Photo credit: Toban B.)

I watched that show Revolution and immediately thought of how life would really be without all of this STUFF we’ve become so used to, some of which I don’t even know how to use yet, though my children do. If the bulk of technology went Kaput today I’d be okay. I’d have to find an iron pot (cauldron, lol) and a few other essentials, but I’d know how to cook on a fire, (even if I’m a bit rusty), and I’d be able to hunt and gather most of my own food, but what would I miss most? Hot water. Electricity. Indoor plumbing.

What would you miss most?

 
19 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2013 in age, DPChallenge, Happiness, home, life, little things

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “21st Century

  1. prayingforoneday

    June 25, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Great blog. I think we take it all for granted. Running fresh water, A toilet, things like that I think we would miss the most. The small things we do take for granted.
    And when Albert Einstein said that, it was like 1950 or something, look where we are now. The future has arrived.
    I am a PC Tech and MUST have all the new gadgets, Phones, Internet Tablets, Laptops, PC’s, you name it, 62 inch TV. My wife hates me. I would be LOST without the Internet and instant messaging. Example, when Michael Jackson died, he was still in his house when the news broke, on twitter we all seen pictures of the Ambulance arriving to his home. We live in an instant communication world now. I often wonder how Albert Einstein would view us now.

    Great blog, this should be 100 pages long when its done.

     
    • Lissa

      June 25, 2013 at 11:16 am

      My son is 25 and he has been learning how to use computers since he was 5. I was using them at work back in 1986 but they were nothing compared to one’s now. I would love to learn more about how to utilize the gadgets I already have, as well as newer ones, but to tell you the truth, it all changes so quickly that I can’t keep up. There are days when it seemed like we actually accomplished more before we had so much technology at our fingertips.

       
      • prayingforoneday

        June 25, 2013 at 11:45 am

        Yeah spot on.
        Things change so much so quick, Ipad’s seem to come out every other week. I think with PC’s, Laptops and now Tablets like Ipad’s and Samsung and the likes and also Phones that have more power than your 1986 Computer, the main thing to remember is, over time they just get smarter. All touch screen now, this is the new thing. There are computers a few years away yet that will be Hologram in nature. Apart from that, I think science will one day hit a wall with technology. I often buy a PC or Laptop that is “The best in the shop” to find out a Month later is now the 23rd best in the shop. lol

        And good your son had use of a PC so young. Both my Daughters 2 and 4 can both turn on my old laptop, find the bookmark they want and play games on the Disney/Nicelodian etc sites. It is amazing how kids pick this up so quick, but important also, because by the time the are ready to go and take on the world I think it will all be Technological, so learning Technology is a good thing. I am self Taught since the early 1990′s I can fix. and build Laptops and PC’s and strip Tablets and change things. I only learn this by breaking stuff and learning how to fix it so I didn’t have to buy again :-) lol

        And yeah I get what you mean by “We did more without all this technology” And you are right, it was all we did before that led us to have this technology..But I am a Gadget FREAK…A new TV came out that was also a Computer…Yeah, I bought it..It should have been £1,800 (I am from Scotland, UK) But I took a display model that was 10 feet up the wall for £600 or something. Amazing TV. I can link my TV Via Bluetooth to any device. So if I download a movie, I can watch it right through my TV. Watched the new Brad Pitt movie Word War Z a few nights ago.

        Technology amazes me, and I just have to have it..Dunno why. lol. All I know is when I walk in the house with a box Dawn *My Partner* just shakes her head and walks away mumbling :-)

         
      • Lissa

        June 25, 2013 at 3:09 pm

        I’m not real big on the all touch screen. I traded smart phones with my daughter because her’s has touch screen and a keyboard and mine was just touch screen. My son is 25, daughter 21, and they try to “school” me about the new stuff. My husband is into electronics as well, and we’re hoping to get one of those fancy new tV’s that is also a computer at Christmas time. Personally, I’d rather have a pool in my backyard, but we’ll see. LOL!

         
      • prayingforoneday

        June 25, 2013 at 6:46 pm

        I would rather have a POOL TABLE in the dinning room..But don’t tell Dawn… :-0

        x

         
  2. bluebeadpublications

    June 25, 2013 at 11:20 am

    I forgot all about rotary phones! I had the toy one.

     
  3. purpleborough

    June 25, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Loved this post and the comments. I would have no problem going back to the 50′s.

     
  4. prayingforoneday

    June 26, 2013 at 8:22 am

    If you do NOT accept award, PLEASE pass this on to a friend.
    I would ask you accept this Award and Song:
    “The Shine on Award”
    http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com/2013/06/26/shine-on-award-4/

    Kindest Regards.
    More love, Less Hate
    Shaun

     
  5. prayingforoneday

    July 7, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    Question…
    Have you stopped blogginh?
    I have seen the toy phone now for weeks..
    Am I looking in the right place..

    Let me know plz
    Ta

     
    • Lissa

      July 8, 2013 at 11:35 am

      I’m still blogging. Just have been in much pain, and then when not in pain really busy trying to find a job. I’ll be putting a post up today.

       
      • prayingforoneday

        July 8, 2013 at 2:27 pm

        Sorry to hear about the pain..
        Glad you are still around .. :-)

         

What do you think?

 
Daily (w)rite

A Daily Ritual of Writing

Catherine, Caffeinated

Writer, astronaut, skinny - Catherine Ryan Howard wouldn't mind being any of those things.

craftedincarhartt

a blog about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Life of a teenage photographer..

Burgess Taylor

Writing and Reading with Coffee in Hand

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Lockman

stuff i tell my sister

Who do you call or text with everyday "stuff" that occurs? Your sister, your mom, your best friend? That's what this blog is about, "stuff I tell my sister"... Great books, photos, music, new ideas, product reviews, exercise and health info, rants & raves and random life thoughts. (from an Oklahoma gal to you♥)

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Writers Write

Write to communicate

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux and Flow

Stories of tedium, reality and falsity

Rebekah Wolveire

Me and My Writings

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

An unflinching view on refusing to be beaten by MS

readful things blog

An opinion on everything literary

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

The Seeker

In between times ...is NOW.

Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Spilled Ink

Where Ink is Splattered All Over the Page...

Emilie Hardie

Writing dystopian political thrillers since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

Restitution

A Story of Survival Against All Odds

things she said

{ observations on life, work, and play }

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

septemberspace

A great WordPress.com site

Nine Pages

A reader’s reviews, a writer’s fiction, a witness’ reflections

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Rising Woman

Writer and Author. Canadian who loves living in Poland. Mother of 2 boys. Non-practicing alcoholic. Life Coach. Cancer survivor. World traveller. Coffee-lover. A work in progress. All these things are me.

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

Michelle Smith - Writer

I don’t know the meaning of life, but I know the meaning of MY life. And it’s this: write. Write about it all – the good stuff and the bad; the pain and the triumphs. And do it whilst drinking damn good coffee. That's all I got.

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Ilene On Words

The Power of Words

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

