RSS

Burn out

25 Jun
Coffee cup

Coffee cup (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

Maybe I was just writing so much, not just the blog, but for Camp NaNo in April, and sending out resumes for jobs… I’m not sure, but whatever it was–I got burn out. I felt wrung dry of anything worth posting. I took a major step back from Facebook or Book Face as my husband calls it. I took a break from posting on my blog. I started reading more. And now I’m in this new place finally, where I’m interviewing for potential jobs, and seriously writing a real outline for a book, and taking a break from the old one because I was in desperate need of a pair of fresh eyes where it was concerned.

I also just got Netflix and found myself up all night watching episodes I missed from a show. That was fun but I paid for it when I finally did go to sleep.

I’ve been feeling the burn out in several areas, not just the blog. I need something to get my creative juices flowing again and I’m thinking it just might be that I needed some real ME time to figure out where I was going and what I was doing–Do I really want to go back to school? If they offer me the one job do I really want to commute? Would I be happy with less money so I don’t have to commute? Could I commute that distance, and in that kind of traffic, for retail hours, and be happy long-term? The answers are NO. I don’t want retail hours. I don’t think I’d mind the commute but I’d definitely mind the traffic. I’d rather take a little less money and not have to commute because in the end I’d spend the extra money or more in gas commuting.

Do I really want to participate in Camp for July if I’m starting a new job? Maybe. Still not sure about that one.

Have I completely abandoned my blog? No, not at all. I just needed a break.

I’ll start posting pictures again soon (I even took a break from that for awhile, other than taking some pictures of the gran).

Sometimes when we spread ourselves too thin, whether mentally or physically, or both, we need a little re-coop time. I’ve been on hiatus. Now I’m coming back.

Time for me to get another cup of coffee and look at what’s going on in the blogosphere and catch up on a few things.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2013 in around here, Blogging, home, life, Photography, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Burn out

  1. Multifarious meanderings

    June 25, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    I’m glad to see you back again. It’s wise to take a step back, that way you can leap forward!

     
    • Lissa

      June 25, 2013 at 3:11 pm

      Thank you. Feels good to be back :D

       
  2. Tonette dela Luna

    June 25, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    Welcome back! It never hurts to take some time away to recharge. A change of ‘scenery’ is always a good thing to refill the creative well. Fortunately, Camp Nano is flexible and you can set your own word count goal so you don’t have to feel pressured with your upcoming work schedule.

    Good luck in your new job. I’m sure you’ll find a happy medium for yourself and your creative outlet.

    Cheers,

    Tonette

     
    • Lissa

      June 25, 2013 at 3:11 pm

      Thank you. I’m waiting to hear back from two of the places. It will come down to the best job with the best pay and hours. :D I feel refreshed and recharged and so much better than I did.

       
  3. ioniamartin

    June 25, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    Take a break. Take care of you. Nothing gets done with an exhausted you.

     
  4. purpleborough

    June 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Happy to see you. I burned out a long time ago, cannot even remember when. Will I ever be back? Don’t know.

     
  5. lost in sweden

    June 26, 2013 at 10:10 am

    Good to hear that you are on the mend. Take care!

     

What do you think?

 
Daily (w)rite

A Daily Ritual of Writing

Catherine, Caffeinated

Writer, astronaut, skinny - Catherine Ryan Howard wouldn't mind being any of those things.

craftedincarhartt

a blog about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Life of a teenage photographer..

Burgess Taylor

Writing and Reading with Coffee in Hand

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Lockman

stuff i tell my sister

Who do you call or text with everyday "stuff" that occurs? Your sister, your mom, your best friend? That's what this blog is about, "stuff I tell my sister"... Great books, photos, music, new ideas, product reviews, exercise and health info, rants & raves and random life thoughts. (from an Oklahoma gal to you♥)

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Writers Write

Write to communicate

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Rebekah Wolveire

Me and My Writings

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

An unflinching view on refusing to be beaten by MS

readful things blog

An opinion on everything literary

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

The Seeker

In between times ...is NOW.

Daily Echo

Sue Vincent ~ Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Spilled Ink

Where Ink is Splattered All Over the Page...

Emilie Hardie

Writing dystopian political thrillers since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

Restitution

A Story of Survival Against All Odds

marginalia and such...

{ formerly things she said }

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

septemberspace

A great WordPress.com site

Nine Pages

A reader’s reviews, a writer’s fiction, a witness’ reflections

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Rising Woman

Full-time & Best Selling Indie Romance Writer (under a pseudonym - a girl needs her secrets, right?). Canadian who loves living in Poland. Mother of 2 boys. Non-practicing alcoholic. Cancer survivor. World traveller. Coffee-lover. A work in progress. All these things are me.

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

Michelle Smith - Writer

I don’t know the meaning of life, but I know the meaning of MY life. And it’s this: write. Write about it all – the good stuff and the bad; the pain and the triumphs. And do it whilst drinking damn good coffee. That's all I got.

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 342 other followers

