RSS

Anniversaries, love, and writing

08 Jul

Two years ago my husband and I went out on our first date on July 9th. We’d met weeks before, and had several mutual friends, but that date changed things for both of us. Between waiting hours to eat and then a flat tire on the way home we both realized that the other person was someone we wanted to get to know better, enjoyed spending time around, and that is exactly what we did–spend time together and get to know each other. We became best friends and our attraction to each other grew. By January 16th we got engaged. We’d been together for 6 months and 1 week when we got engaged. We planned our wedding for September 8th, 2012. Nothing fancy. An outdoor wedding and reception and my parents home. A barbecue reception, real barbecue (my dad and uncle and cousin barbecued a hog) and family fixing’s (several of my family members brought dishes) and one of my Aunt’s made our cake and cupcakes.  (OMG they were delicious!) Everyone loved the food. Everyone loved the ceremony. And even the 20 minutes worth of rain that came out of the sky from nowhere at the very beginning of our outdoor reception didn’t keep people from enjoying themselves.

We’ve been married 10 months today, and together for 2 years tomorrow. So it’s all about anniversaries right now. I can’t believe how fast it has all passed by. It feels like I’ve known him for a lifetime yet it doesn’t feel like it’s been 2 years already.  Love, real love, at least to me, seems to be so calming, yet so exciting at the same time. I am happier than I’ve ever been. Regardless of the pain I’m in (that I hide the depth of from my husband so he doesn’t worry so much) or the fact that because I’m not working having only one income really puts a burden on him, and things are stressful–I really do need to find a job–we’re both the happiest we’ve ever been.

Happiness isn’t about what you have, but appreciating what you have. My grandson will be one next Monday–I’m going to miss the baby stuff, after this birthday there’s no stopping him. He’ll start walking soon, he’s already standing by  himself some. And he’s talking, and playing, and learning everything so quickly. Before long he’ll be in kindergarten and I’ll be wondering where all the time went.  Then again, I can’t believe my children are 25 and 21, and that I’ll be 46 on the 23rd of this month.

I’m writing a book for July’s CampNaNoWriMo. So far so good, but I’m still not onto the book that I know will be the “one.” I’m getting there though. I’ve read several books on from my Amazon Kindle that had errors, mistakes, etc and I know that when I finally do publish I really don’t want that in my book. As a reader, I pick up on them and if there’s one or two it doesn’t bother me so much, but if there are a lot then my attitude is one of “Put the book down and wait until it’s finished to read” because if it has that many errors in it then it isn’t really finished. Sometimes, when we’re in a rush we make errors, and sometimes our minds work faster than our hands can type, but it’s different if it’s a published book. Shouldn’t an editor have picked up on that stuff. Unless it is self published, then your own inner editor has an even harder job to do. I don’t think I want to self publish. I want to go the old fashioned route and send my manuscript off, await the numerous rejection letters that will come in the mail, and hope that at least one person out there in the land of books to be published reads my manuscript and thinks “This is good…this has potential…I want to talk to this person…(or even) by George, this is it!”

Oh well, let me get back to re-organizing the guest room now that my wonderful husband has taken the double bed out of there and put up the twin bed so we can put my desk back in there and I finally have my own room to write and create in. I don’t mind having the desk in our bedroom but it really does make the room crowded.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Anniversaries, love, and writing

  1. Multifarious meanderings

    July 8, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    Happy anniversary, Lissa, and high five for your serious writing attitude. You’ve givien me the motivation to get cracking on my book too :-)

     
  2. Jonathan Caswell

    July 9, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    ORT-ORT-ORT-ORT-ORT-ORT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     

What do you think?

 
Daily (w)rite

A Daily Ritual of Writing

Catherine, Caffeinated

Writer, astronaut, skinny - Catherine Ryan Howard wouldn't mind being any of those things.

craftedincarhartt

a blog about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Life of a teenage photographer..

Burgess Taylor

Writing and Reading with Coffee in Hand

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Lockman

stuff i tell my sister

Who do you call or text with everyday "stuff" that occurs? Your sister, your mom, your best friend? That's what this blog is about, "stuff I tell my sister"... Great books, photos, music, new ideas, product reviews, exercise and health info, rants & raves and random life thoughts. (from an Oklahoma gal to you♥)

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Writers Write

Write to communicate

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Rebekah Wolveire

Me and My Writings

readful things blog

An opinion on everything literary

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

The Seeker

In between times ...is NOW.

Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Spilled Ink

Where Ink is Splattered All Over the Page...

Emilie Hardie

Writing dystopian political thrillers since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

Restitution

A Story of Survival Against All Odds

things she said

{ observations on life, work, and play }

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

septemberspace

A great WordPress.com site

Nine Pages

A reader’s reviews, a writer’s fiction, a witness’ reflections

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Rising Woman

Writer and Author. Canadian who loves living in Poland. Mother of 2 boys. Non-practicing alcoholic. Life Coach. Cancer survivor. World traveller. Coffee-lover. A work in progress. All these things are me.

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

Michelle Smith - Writer

I don’t know the meaning of life, but I know the meaning of MY life. And it’s this: write. Write about it all – the good stuff and the bad; the pain and the triumphs. And do it whilst drinking damn good coffee. That's all I got.

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

