RSS

What it’s like going over the road with a trucker

27 Jan

Originally posted on Burgess Taylor:

When I went out on the road with my husband this past week I knew I was in for a week of confined space, food on the go, lots of time between bathroom breaks, not being able to shower with lots of hot water (much less privacy and the comforts of home), and having to tie up my hair or just putting it in a hat, which meant a hot mess because my hair is really curly and gets nappy when I sleep, especially after having it in a hat for a long while, BUT what I didn’t realize was how stressful, exciting, tiring, beautiful, and fun it was going to be.

I had a blast. I took a ton of pictures. (By the way, it is really hard to take pictures when you’re going down the road at 55+ mph.) We thoroughly enjoyed our time together. My husband…

View original 685 more words

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “What it’s like going over the road with a trucker

  1. andy1076

    January 27, 2014 at 12:21 pm

    I always have had so much respect for truck drivers, the unsung heroes that help keep the economy rolling :) not sure I can do 14 but wow I want to lear! :)

     
    • burgesstaylor7911

      January 27, 2014 at 12:52 pm

      My husband loves to drive but hates the Over the Road part of it. He wants to be home at least every couple of days, which would mean driving more locally. Hopefully a slot will come open soon but I’ll enjoy going with him while I can, and continue to take lots of pics. :D
      There are schools that train you for your CDL, and companies that will put you through the school if you’re really interested.

       
      • andy1076

        January 28, 2014 at 4:33 pm

        I hope you’ll get to go on a trip that will take you places you never been :) I imagine that the local roads must seem tiny after driving the freeways for so long :D

        I’ll have to look into the schools, love to giant beasts :D

         
      • Lissa

        January 28, 2014 at 4:35 pm

        I’d never been to Kentucky or to West Virginia, so that was really cool. I’ll go again soon and hopefully it’ll be somewhere different… I’m hoping. :D

         
      • andy1076

        January 28, 2014 at 7:29 pm

        All across and everywhere next! lol :)

         

What do you think?

 
Daily (w)rite

A Daily Ritual of Writing

Catherine, Caffeinated

Writer, astronaut, skinny - Catherine Ryan Howard wouldn't mind being any of those things.

craftedincarhartt

a blog about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Life of a teenage photographer..

Burgess Taylor

Writing and Reading with Coffee in Hand

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Lockman

stuff i tell my sister

Who do you call or text with everyday "stuff" that occurs? Your sister, your mom, your best friend? That's what this blog is about, "stuff I tell my sister"... Great books, photos, music, new ideas, product reviews, exercise and health info, rants & raves and random life thoughts. (from an Oklahoma gal to you♥)

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Writers Write

Write to communicate

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Rebekah Wolveire

Me and My Writings

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Refusing to be beaten by MS

readful things blog

An opinion on everything literary

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

The Seeker

In between times ...is NOW.

Daily Echo

Sue Vincent ~ Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Spilled Ink

Where Ink is Splattered All Over the Page...

Emilie Hardie

Writing dystopian political thrillers since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

Restitution

A Story of Survival Against All Odds

things she said

{ observations on life, work, and play }

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

septemberspace

A great WordPress.com site

Nine Pages

A reader’s reviews, a writer’s fiction, a witness’ reflections

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Rising Woman

Writer and Author. Canadian who loves living in Poland. Mother of 2 boys. Non-practicing alcoholic. Life Coach. Cancer survivor. World traveller. Coffee-lover. A work in progress. All these things are me.

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

Michelle Smith - Writer

I don’t know the meaning of life, but I know the meaning of MY life. And it’s this: write. Write about it all – the good stuff and the bad; the pain and the triumphs. And do it whilst drinking damn good coffee. That's all I got.

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 342 other followers

