RSS

136 days until our wedding

26 Apr

Earlier tonight (well, it’s morning now since coughing woke me up and I can’t get back to sleep), David and I were going over some of the details for the wedding. Opening prayer/remarks, gathering words, reading/poem, song, marriage address, vows, ring exchange, final blessing and pronouncement…

(We are writing out own vows, and we’re keeping them secret from each other until the BIG day!)

We also went through our list of songs so that we could decide which song we’ll be using for the ceremony and then which song will be our first dance. So far we’re leaning towards having my uncle sing “I Cross my Heart” by George Strait during the ceremony, and then having our first dance to “Your Everything” by Keith Urban. It’s funny, David is in a rock band (they sing stuff like Lynrd Skynrd, Alice in Chains, 3 Doors Down…) and the two songs we’ve picked are country music. We both like all different kinds of music, but my uncle is going to play his guitar and sing those two songs for us.

The reading we’re using are the lyrics to the song called “The Book of Love,” from the album 69 Love songs, written by Stephen Merrit, performed by The Magnetic Fields, as well as Peter Gabriel.

We’ve set our priorities: venue; photos; invitations & attire, flowers, food/liquor, cake, favors…etc…The most important thing to us was the venue, which is free to use, but we’re going to have to spend some money getting it ready for the wedding. Then photos, which we’re willing to spend some money on but not a whole lot (we don’t have a medium lot much less a whole lot). The invitations are important but what we’re spending money on is the paper goods and the ink for my printer and stamps so we’re definitely cutting costs there.  Since I already have my dress (thanks to a wonderful family member), all I have to worry about is the alterations. Have my gorgeous shoes. David has his black suit so we just have to get the vest and tie, and his socks.  Then, of course, there are the flowers. Oh, sweet beautiful flowers. Especially since I want red roses. And I don’t want just red roses, I also want the white roses with the red blush, and then one yellow rose to go in the center of my bouquet in memory of those who can only be there in spirit.  I think the blush roses are called Rossini roses. We don’t have to pay for the music, our friends and family are providing that for us…No charge. Love having musical friends!

The really exciting part about the photography is that David’s friend Katie has a friend that is a photographer (a professional) and we’re meeting her tomorrow afternoon to go over her packages. If the package is affordable Katie is giving us that as our wedding present. Isn’t that just amazing and sweet? I’m so awed by everyone’s generosity.

Things have been hectic for us. (Especially since David’s dad started chemo on Monday for stage 3 Lymphoma.) We’re paying for the wedding ourselves (we’ve both been married before but neither of us had a wedding) and we’re older (though David is actually still young–I don’t think 33 (almost 34) is old). My parents are getting their yard ready but we need to get an arch or something, as well as things like lights for the reception area, table clothes, etc. It all adds up. My parents and many of my family members are making the food for the reception, my aunt is making the cake and cupcakes, and some of our friends are helping us with the beer, wine, and liquor.

Anyway, I’ve digressed. The reason I began writing this post was because as we listened to music to decide what song we wanted as part of the ceremony and what song we wanted as our first dance (David had originally wanted “Blue’s Man,” by Alan Jackson but changed his mind, we were dancing to the music in our living room. It was romantic and sweet, and reminded us both of how excited we are about the wedding, but mostly about our marriage. We’re both starting to get really excited about things. As we narrow down some of the finer details of the wedding it’s becoming more REAL.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What do you think?

 
meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about anything related to Blogging. Post any job related to Blogging / Digital Marketing for free.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

Live life, then write about it.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

