RSS

Thoughts on wedding planning, WIC, non-traditional brides, and reality

27 Aug

As I type this I am 12 days away from getting married, or as my FUTURE HUSBAND says, “No babe, we’re 11 days away…” He doesn’t count our wedding day in the actual count down because it is “W” day. Over the past few months, since January 16, 2012, since we got engaged, I’ve been planning our wedding. Originally, David wanted to get married May 26, 2012, which would have been fine with me except that really didn’t give us much time to plan things, to find the stuff we needed (like a dress, etc), and my daughter was pregnant and really didn’t want to be “big” during for our wedding, and he really wanted (still wants) his sister who lives in Utah to be at the wedding. So, we went round and round about a date. When we finally settled on our date (September 8, 2012), we began the planning.

I did a great deal of research before we did anything. I looked at dress after dress online, I looked at indoor and outdoor real wedding pictures, I looked at color schemes and bridesmaid dresses, flowers, and looked through various bridal magazines and websites. There were a number of wedding dresses that were absolutely gorgeous, stunning, and that were we having an indoor wedding, especially a church wedding I’d have chosen one of them in a nan0-second, but we’re having our wedding outdoors–in my parents yard. The ceremony will be in their front yard and the reception will be in their backyard. And we’re really excited about the wedding. The wedding itself, but all this planning has been a bit much. It has turned out way more complicated than we planned, it’s way more stressful than it should have been, and as I type this there are still a number of things I still need to finish, as well as get started on.

While looking up wedding ideas I found the most fabulous wedding website: Offbeat Bridehttp://offbeatbride.com/ When I knew I wasn’t going to wear a white dress, and we weren’t going to do the whole “traditional” type of wedding I also found myself bombarded with the “well-meaning” but aggravating or hurtful or sarcastic comments from people: “You can’t wear white, you’ve been married before,” or “What do you mean you’re not wearing white,” or “You’re a bride, you have to wear white” or “What kind of wedding are you having, then?” etc…

Truth is we’re having a music themed wedding because we met via music and friends, plus David is a singer and guitar player (lead guitar and bass), and I wanted something that was significant, interesting, and could be easy to tie things in with. I am not wearing a white dress because I found a gunmetal grey dress that I fell in love with–if I’d found a black dress, a red dress, a white dress, or a striped dress I’d fell in love with I’d have bought it and be wearing it. I don’t care about the wedding industry’s bullshit, nor do I care about what others think, the only thing that mattered to me was: Did I feel like a bride, Did I look good in it, Would the Future Husband love it as well, and Could we afford it????  I was going to go with purple as a main color, which looks beautiful with silver/grey, but not all of my bridesmaids would look good in that color, nor would they all look good in the same dress, so after a month of thinking it over, and asking others what they thought about certain dresses, etc. we came to a cumulative decision: why not go with little black dresses??? So we did. Little black dresses with silver shoes, and they get to pick their own dress and shoes, no one will match but the whole thing will match because it’s a theme…Black and silver…

During the past few months OBB has saved me from losing it, as well as helped me come up with great ideas that will save me money, has given me more of a sense of self-confidence when it comes to rolling with our non-traditional wedding. I’m super excited about my wedding, and I’m confident that regardless of whether everyone likes our wedding there will a great many people who love and care about us who do love our wedding and who have a great time. As it gets closer and closer to the date I find myself getting more nervous yet even more excited at the same time.

I am thrilled that we’re getting married. I am so excited about all of it, but I’m nervous that I won’t get everything finished. So now I’m back to cutting out petals for our bouquets….

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Thoughts on wedding planning, WIC, non-traditional brides, and reality

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

{:de}Der Luftfahrt Blog{:}{:en}The Aviation Blog{:}

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

