RSS

Scrapbooking…A work in progress

02 Oct

So as a beginner to scrapbooking, I know these are not quite up to par with many of the scrapbook pages I’ve been looking at, but the more I work on them the better I’ll get. I wanted to create one for David’s sister that lives in Utah and was unable to make it to our wedding. I wanted her to feel as if she were a part of it, so I included a lot of the actual wedding photos, as well as a few photos from when we first began seeing each other and one from our engagement, and reception pictures as well.

I started with a scrapbook kit. The album came with paper, stickers, a few die-cuts, and some alpha letters. At the time I hadn’t really watched any scrapbook tutorials (which I have now done), and I didn’t know much about embellishments, or layouts/sketches, flow or contrast or emphasis or journaling, I just knew what I wanted to do and that I wanted it to look nice. So I printed the wedding photos I liked (which took a great deal of ink) and began the process.

As I created the first page I realized I need to figure out how to make room for more than one photo on the pages, and I wanted to write some explanations for the pictures (who, what, where, when, how kind of thing). I liked the first page but I would run out of protective pages if I only put 1 or 2 pictures on each page.  I also wanted to include quotes. So as I looked at each page (the patterned paper, and the solid paper) I realized I needed to matte the pictures so they would stand out. I also needed to put some sort of embellishment on there. That’s when I began researching scrapbooking. I looked up scrapbooking on google, pinterest, and blogs. I began a serious inquiry into what tools were needed for scrapbooking, the best adhesive, and I needed to find a more inexpensive way to scrapbook because there’s no way I can afford all the fancy stuff. I love patterned paper. I love color. I love journaling. I’m creative. I knew there had a be a way to scrapbook on a budget.

(I’ll now be going to Walgreen’s to have my photos developed instead of printing them myself. Don’t get me wrong, every now and again I’m sure I’ll print a photos or 2, but I won’t be printing them in bulk anymore.)

So as I worked on the pages, I noticed the more I did the better I got, the more I could look at them and see that I needed something here or something there, and I also noticed what I liked more, what I liked the least. How important it was to matte certain photos, but that I really didn’t need to matte all of them. So I did more research. I went back to Michael’s, went to Wally World, and got some more stickers, some white 12×12 cardstock, a better adhesive, and some pens (the kind you can use for scrapbooking). Our wedding colors were: grey/silver, black, red. So I wanted to include those colors. I also used some of the printed sheet music I’d put on red cardstock for the sheet music roses I’d made for our bouquets. I matted journal entries. As I look back at these I can see that I should have put a piece of solid paper across the middle of the one on the left, and I could have done something a little different with the second page on that layout. And I didn’t use titles on very many pages. I’m sure there’s a lot more I could do that would make this more appealing visually, but I’m still learning.

Some pages do have titles. Since his sister hasn’t been able to visit in about 6 years, she hasn’t seen some of her nieces and nephews, nor her siblings in quite a while, if at all. So I included one 2 page layout that was pretty much nothing but family. I realize now I should have titled it. I may go back before I mail it to her and put a few titles on some of the pages. However, for a beginner I don’t think they’re that bad. I worked on figuring out what quotes would look best, and though I didn’t  use any embellishments, such as tags, stickers, buttons, etc for this one I did place quotes and journaling on that pages.

I really think she’ll like the scrapbook, I just wish I’d had way more practice before I began the process of making her scrapbook. The pages I send her after Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas will be much more appealing visually.

I finally finished hers, then I began on ours. Ours was more difficult. I wanted to begin at the beginning, which meant finding pictures from the very beginning, finding stuff from when we first began dating (fortune cookie inserts, tickets, etc) But I figured I’d go in the attic soon and find the box with that stuff in it and add some of that later or create a new page.  For ours I decided not to get the kit but to actually get a packet of paper in our wedding color theme along with white cardstock, and I could use some of the wedding cards and the gift bags we received to use as background or embellishment.

 

 

Each page got easier. I have skipped some pages, I want to make them later after I’ve gone in the attic, and I haven’t made very many of the wedding pages yet, but I did make the honeymoon pages.  I had a lot of the stuff from our honeymoon handy so they were easy, but I did have to go back to Michael’s and Wally World to get some embellishments that were beach related, and I found some embellishments that were music related that fit with out music themed wedding, which I thought were really cool. I loved the musical notes and the guitars. And I found a website that talked about scrapbooking on a budget and said you could print clip art or pictures of things (logos, etc) on cardstock  or regular paper and then use it with other household things, or other things that are related, like ribbon, fabric, buttons, pamphlets, etc. So I used some things I already had and had never really thought about using.

Our honeymoon was awesome and these pages were so easy for me. I think I had the most fun with these pages.

Engagment page

I was so excited about creating the pages I realized I may have over embellished some of the pages for our scrapbook and under embellished the pages for the scrapbook I made for David’s sister. I am now receiving a tutorial every day that explains scrapbooking elements, etc and has lots of pics that help. I’m also looking at video tutorials as well. I’ll post more as I go along.

If anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it. Either way, I’m having a blast making them and can’t wait until I finish ours and then begin on the one for my parents and the one for David’s parents.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Scrapbooking…A work in progress

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

