RSS

That M word: Menopause

17 Jan

A few weeks ago I began a post:

I’m waiting on David to get back from work so he can take me to the ER. I’m having severe pains where my ovaries are…Not good. I’ve never had a cyst, so I’m not sure of that’s it, but I know it isn’t my appendix because I haven’t had one since I was 17 years old. Between having my period every 2-3 weeks and mood swings, not to mention the hot flashes, I’m pretty sure that menopause is well on its way to my door, but feeling like utter dog poo is not a good thing, and I’m sure that the severe pains I’m having are not a good thing at all!

Today was to be my first day on my own at my new job…Out of training. How wonderful is that? I was so excited about it too. Now, instead of going to work I’m going to the ER. WTH! Not real happy about that. But my husband is so sweet. As soon as he found out I was hurting, he called and he’s getting off work early so he can take me. I am so very blessed. Most of the time I’ve driven myself to the ER so this is new to me.

Snoopy makes it better

That is as far as I got. David took me to the ER, I was diagnosed with uterine fibroids. They range in size from the size of a pea to just over the size of a golf ball. Needless to say,  David didn’t want me to go back to work. Standing on my feet for 11 hours, walking around, getting in and out of cars, etc was too much. The DR had an excuse for 3 days out of work, but the pain pills he gave me say to take one every 4 hrs and the other every 6 hrs. And they make me woozy. No driving on while on them. I went to my follow up visit with my OBGYN this past Friday and as soon as we have health insurance I’ll be having a hysterectomy. OH FUN! But that will mean no more pain. So until then I was given the DEPO shot and hopefully that will help things.

Let’s be honest here, I’m fixed. I had my tubes cut, tied, and burned way back when (21 years ago), the day after I had my daughter. Having babies was no easy thing for me and the DR said I had a weak uterus back then and it would be dangerous for me to have any more children. Not that I want any more children. NO! I have a 6 month old grandson I get to cuddle, love on, spoil and spend time with. I’m okay with having a hysterectomy, what I’m a bit bummed about is that whole MENOPAUSE thing. I’ve been randomly having hot flashes for the past year, now it’s worse but still random. The mood swings not so much. The irregular menstrual cycle-check, as well as the more painful and longer lasting thing going on-check.

What is about the word MENOPAUSE that makes women sometimes feel like they are less female, less a woman, less feminine? I don’t want to research this, I’ve done enough research on the uterine fibroids, and I’m not talking about the physical thing or the hormones–I’m talking mentally, emotionally, and though they can research that they really can’t dig down into your psyche and feel what you feel. I am fine with having a hysterectomy. Hell, that means no more tampons, no more cramps, no more scheduling stuff away from that time of month…HELL YEAH! Bring it on! I’d have it done now if I had insurance. And that is another thing.

Mr. Rockstar’s employer offers insurance, and we were signed up for it, then right when they were adding me on they changed insurance companies, and BAM! the prices went up, and when I mean I mean UP! They wanted us to pay $150 a week for the two of us with a $10,000 deductible. Hell we couldn’t afford the $150 a week, but how the hell are you supposed to meet a $10,000 deductible unless you do have some kind of surgery, and even then we’d have to make monthly payments, which wouldn’t work b/c you have to pay your deductible up front. Yeah, RIght! So he cancelled it. Now he’s looking for a job with a company that has really good benefits (and better pay).

Though the Health Care/Insurance issue is a big one, I’m not delving into that one right now.

So I feel like such a slacker because I’m not working. Getting a job and then having to take at least 6 weeks of medical leave after only being there for 3-4 months would suck. Plus working while in this much pain, and on medication would be hard. (Those are Mr. Rockstar’s main arguments for me not working.)  But it doesn’t help me feel any better not working, not helping, not adding to our finances.

Okay, I feel a little better after having vented. Feeling like a slacker today, and a bit depressed because yet another friend from high school died. I guess I’m just having one of those days.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2013 in a friend's death, age, around here, home, life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “That M word: Menopause

  1. Grndma Chris

    January 18, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    I feel so bad for you, I was in the same boat for years because of the insurance thing. I suffered for years too. I was lucky enough to get better insurance right at the time all of my organs failed and the fibroids were everywhere. Have faith, hopefully soon you can get it done.

     
  2. dragonmommie

    January 24, 2013 at 7:01 pm

    Wow, I’m identifying again… well, not that I have the same medical problems, but I do have some. I have been out of work since 2005, when I had my son, and now I’ve been looking for work but not a nibble for quite some time. We have no insurance because of the outrageous prices and the both of us are looking for work, really just for the benefits (and PAY CHECK)…. I hope you can get yourself some insurance soon so you can take care of yourself.

     

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

