RSS

Is beauty truly in the eye of the beholder?

18 Jan

To be beautifulLast night while watching the news, after the news, I noticed that the anchorwoman/host of the news show was standing directly in front of this enhanced screen. She looked “too perfect,” and I asked my daughter if she thought they had done something (like what people can do with special effects, Photoshop, etc kind of thing) to make her look so skinny (especially since the old adage has always been that the camera adds ten pounds). My daughter said no, that the woman was just skinny. She’s a beautiful woman, don’t get me wrong, shapely and with an extremely small waist, but if the camera adds ten pounds then I wondered just how skinny she looked in person, how skinny are the people we see in television in real life…

I hate having my picture taken. I love taking pictures. And one of my goals when I do begin the photography classes is to find ways to bring out people’s best features, to take shots that enhance their natural beauty,…What is the best way to stand, to sit, to hold your head, etc…that way when I do have pictures taken of me I’ll look my best instead of constantly worrying about whether I look like I have a double chin or if my biceps look huge or if my stomach is poking out. Currently, I’m trying to lose a few pounds via Dr’s orders, by slowly changing what I eat and how much I eat. So hopefully, I’ll take better pictures when I do lose this extra weight I’m carrying. But what if I only lose a few pounds, not as much as the Dr ordered, but enough to feel a little better about myself and when I look at a picture of myself I still feel like I look horrible…See, I think we’re our own worst critics…

My husband thinks I’m beautiful, sexy, and attractive just the way I am. However, I have gained about 20 pounds since we began seeing each other. Sometimes stress makes me lose weight and sometimes it makes me gain weight, the stress of planning a wedding was stressful, especially since we had a really small budget. Now that the wedding is over I should have began losing weight. But it isn’t really about the weight. It’s more about self-image and self-confidence.

I’m in my mid 40’s, and that whole middle age thing hit me hard. I went from waking up one morning with a small waist to waking up one morning with almost no waist. I hadn’t changed anything in my diet, hadn’t gained any weight, so what happened? My metabolism changed? My body said, “Oh wait! You’re 40 something it is time for things to start spreading…” I don’t know. Funny thing is, I knew and know what to do to change it–diet, exercise, but I was so BUSY planning the wedding and DIY’ing the wedding, as well as the regular life stuff like work, home, etc I kept thinking I have time. I’ll get to it. But the wedding was in the forefront of my mind and exercising wasn’t. Though I kept thinking about it. Then I saw my wedding pictures and realized exercise should have been on the forefront of my mind. However, my husband thought I was the most beautiful ever, and others kept saying the same…and on that day I did feel absolutely beautiful and it shows in some of the pictures.

Looking back on when I’ve felt the most beautiful, sexy, attractive, I’d say that there are several factors that come in to play:

  • I feel better on a whole when I am self-confident, and that comes from within and has little to do with your size or your weight
  • I feel more attractive when I am healthy
  • I look better when I am healthy
  • I feel beautiful, sexy, and attractive when my husband looks at me and I see all that love and passion he feels for me right there in his eyes and on his face
  • I feel beautiful, sexy, and attractive until I see pictures of myself

So, I’ve decided that regardless of how much weight I do lose, I refuse to get obsessed about the size I wear or how much I weigh–it’s about being a healthier me. I need to make some real changes in my life. It’s a constant work in progress, and I have let some things go stagnant for too long so it’s time to take control and do what I need to do in order to be a healthier me. Part of that is to exercise and eat healthier, but part of it is about working on me as a whole. Not letting other things become more important than my health. I’ll be less stressed out over the small things if I am a healthier and less stressed out me in general. I’ll feel more attractive in general if I am healthier and I think that self-confidence draws a more positive attitude.

We’re surrounded by images of sexy, skinny, slender, shapely, gorgeous, thin, tall, long-legs, perfect looking women who are the model of what the rest of us are supposed to look like. Sorry, we’re not all 5’10” inches tall with slender frames and long legs. We’re not all a size 0, 1, or 2. We’re not all slender in the hips, or have big busts, or small waists. Some of us are petite and curvy, some of us are pear shaped and others are apple shaped, and some have an hourglass figure. The jeans that a woman who is a size 8 and 5’8″ can wear and look good in them are not going to be the same jeans that a 5’2″ size 8 will be able to wear and look good in.

It’s funny though, I’m so thankful that my husband is not one of those men who simply wants a woman with big breasts, a small waist and long legs–if he were, he’d have married someone else. When he sees a really slender or skinny woman his remark is usually, “somebody get that woman a sandwich.” On the other side of the fence, I know quite a few women who are on the slender side and really have to work to stay healthy looking otherwise they would be too skinny. No matter what size or shape you are there is always someone out there with the same problem or a different problem, someone out there who envy’s you because you’re this and she’s that, or someone who feels like they are too skinny or too fat, who wishes they had longer legs or shorter legs, etc… Be happy with who and what you are. Take good care of yourself. Believe in yourself. Be the best you that you can be and if that means you’re healthy as size 2 or healthy as a size 10 or healthy as a size 16, then flaunt that healthiness with self-confidence.

Right now, all I can do are light exercises and walking because of the pain in my uterus, but I started light exercising this morning. This afternoon I will go for a walk. Tomorrow I’ll do some stretching and go for a walk. Sunday I’ll do some light exercise and go for a walk. I think I will walk my block every day and as I progress I’ll walk further in a shorter period of time. I’m also going to do my best to buy less processed foods, and to buy a lot healthier foods. Right now, it’s not about losing weight so much as it’s about being a healthier me. The best me I can be.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 18, 2013 in 40 something, age

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Is beauty truly in the eye of the beholder?

  1. dragonmommie

    January 24, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    I can identify so much with this post. I was never a thin person, so after I had my son, I had just about the same number of stretch marks on my stomach afterwards, as before. Heh… apparently one good thing about being heavy. One thing that helps me feel good is drinking plenty of water. It really does clear the skin and give it that healthy glow. I agree that how we feel about ourselves is more of a factor in feeling attractive and sexy than anything on the outside, or how other people perceive us. Just wish I knew this when I was younger… oh well, I’ll make it a point to utilize this to the fullest now and in the future. Great post and I look forward to reading more.

     

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

{:de}Der Luftfahrt Blog{:}{:en}The Aviation Blog{:}

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

