RSS

Sweet Sixteen….ummm 29 years later

25 Jan

Daily Prompt Challenge: When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

Let’s see…I turned 16 the summer of 1983.  “Every breath you take” by the Police was a hit, along with “Billie Jean” by Michael Jackson, “Flash Dance: What a Feeling” by Irene Cara, as well as “Maneater” by Hall & Oates.  And as far as movies go, the long awaited Star Wars Return of the Jedi, Jaws 3-D, Breathless, Mr. Mom, National Lampoon’s Vacation, Octopussy, Risky Business, and Staying Alive, as well quite a few others.  

In the news, Following on from the start of the recession in the US Unemployment Rises to 12 million (the highest figure since 1941), and Motorola introduced the first cellular phones,  Ronald Reagan is our the president and the Challenger had it’s maiden launch.

Some of the television shows that were out were:  Cagney & Lacey, Hill Street Blues, Knight Rider,  The A-Team (had just come out)….And the Rubik’s Cube and Hacky Saks were really popular as well as Boom Boxes, and Cabbage Patch Kids (dolls).  Feathered Hair, Mohawks, big hair, and blue eye shadow, as well as the one side longer one side shorter hair cut. Swatch Watches, High Tops, Jellies, and big hair bows and Trapper Keeprs were popular. OHHH, and don’t forget the shoulder pads!!!! or the Crop Tops-half shirts, mid-shirts…. or the neon clothes…or the stone-washed jeans or the pants with all the zippers, or the legwarmers, thanks to Flashdance. AND OMG–the spandax!  and the parachute pants…

So now that I’ve went over what was popular the year I turned 16 I’ll go over what my dreams were and what I thought my life would be like.

When I was 16, I was on the newspaper staff at my high school, taking my first journalism class (and doing quite well in it), taking all honors or AP classes (the labels have different meanings now), I had a steady boyfriend, a best friend (or two), and I worked at a cashier part-time at one of the local grocery stores, as well as played soccer. I wanted to go to college for journalism, become a free-lance writer and a photojournalist…To one day have one of my stories or photos in Times magazine. I wanted to get married and have 4 children, and I’d given serious though to joining the military to help with college as well as the benefit of traveling. Oh those dreams. I was busy, slender, in shape, intelligent, pretty, and had no idea of how awesome I was or could be (not back then). I was shy and I lacked enough self-confidence. I was nerdy. My nose was always in a book, or writing, or taking pictures. I had no idea of what I really could do with myself, but I had dreams just not the oomph to see them through.

Now, I am 45 and it is almost 30 years since my sweet 16, and I know what an awesome girl that 16 year old me was–I just wish she’d known it. If she had known that along with the scholarship for tuition, she also could have gotten help from the VA because her father had been a veteran, as well as grants and student loans she’d have gone to college for journalism. If she had known…But alas, she did not know. The me that I became later, based on all the decisions I made along the way, knows.

So now, I am 45 and I’m a mother of a 24 year old  son and a 21 year old daughter (who are both in college), a grandmother to a beautiful 6 month old little boy, and I recently got married after having been divorced for about 19 years and I’m the happiest I’ve ever been. I hope to begin photography classes in February or March, and I am writing (though it’s had a rough start). I love my family and friends. I enjoy life.

I have noticed, however, that some of the 80’s fads have come back and it makes me feel really old and at the same time makes me smile. Most days, however, I don’t feel anywhere close to 45–I’m a young 45. I am happy with my life and if I had to do it all over again I guess the only thing I’d change would be: I’d tell my younger self to think outside the box, to be more self-confident, and to laugh more.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2013 in 40 something, age, DPChallenge

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Sweet Sixteen….ummm 29 years later

  1. basijas2013

    January 25, 2013 at 8:05 am

    As someone just a year older than you, your memories of the era made me feel old. You sound in a good place now, so go get ’em!

     
    • Lissa

      January 25, 2013 at 7:30 pm

      My husband and I watched Back to the Future a few weeks ago and we were talking about when it came out…1985, the year I graduated from high school and he was about 7-8….It made both of us think about age for a moment. Normally, age isn’t really thought about (around here), but there are occasions when it comes up..Usually when something from a certain time period (like movies, tv shows, songs, etc) and then I do begin to feel old. But normally, I don’t feel old. 😀

       

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

{:de}Der Luftfahrt Blog{:}{:en}The Aviation Blog{:}

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

