RSS

Since Sliced Bread

29 Jan
Electronic typewriter - the final stage in typ...

Electronic typewriter – the final stage in typewriter development. A 1989 Canon Typestar 110 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread. Most of us have heard the saying, “That’s the best thing since sliced bread!” What do you think is actually the best thing since sliced bread?

I was looking back at some of the things that were popular in 1983, the year I turned 16, for one of the other daily prompts, and realized that Microsoft Word came out that year, which took me by surprise. In that surprise I began to think of all the things I now do with a computer, especially while I was in college, that I had to do with a typewriter back in high school. So for me, I’d have to say that computers are the best thing since sliced bread.

Since the 80’s,  technological advances in regard to computers have been wide open. For people who weren’t born before these technological advances, I suppose it’s different, but for someone like me who remembers typing research papers on a typewriter, with footnotes, and if you got it wrong you had to start that page over. Sure, there were electric typewriters and there were even a few word processors, like Brother, and I’m sure for those who were more technologically savvy there were better options, (like IBM’s first PC, or later the Tandy) but it wasn’t until the late 80’s or early 90’s that I got my first word processor, and then it wasn’t until the very late 90’s that I got my first computer. Since then, I’ve been hooked.

Now, don’t get me wrong, up until a few years ago I had a manual typewriter that had belonged to my aunt that I actually still used. I began writing a novel on it, but when it quit working and I had trouble finding someone to fix it I finally just put everything I had for the novel in my computer and finally gave up on the typewriter. There is something about the sound of the keys, the sound of sliding it back when you’ve finished typing that line, and then moving on to the next line, that you don’t get with a computer. Now, as I venture into even more modern technology, I am debating on switching from Windows to Apple (especially once I wade deeper into the sea of photography). I’m hoping that when I am finally able to switch to Apple I’ll find that it will be the best thing since sliced bread.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Since Sliced Bread

  1. orestgtd

    January 30, 2013 at 3:10 am

    Thanks for linking to my post.

    I switched from Windows to Apple a few years ago and love it.

     
    • Lissa

      January 31, 2013 at 1:59 am

      Seriously considering it, would just have to save enough money to get what I want.

       
      • orestgtd

        February 1, 2013 at 4:44 pm

        True, Apple products tend to be more expensive.

         

What do you think?

 
meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about anything related to Blogging. Post any job related to Blogging / Digital Marketing for free.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

Live life, then write about it.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

