RSS

A Saturday night to myself–some much needed me time

03 Feb

IMG_0870 IMG_0871As I type this I am sitting at my desk having some wine and dark chocolate…My treat to myself after a long day, a rough day.

The car is acting up: either it needs new spark plugs, and O2 sensor, or something…A friend of ours who is a mechanic checked it out and said it needed new spark plugs to start with. We’re going to do that tomorrow, and next weekend we’re going to get him to tune it up, replace the wires, the fuel filter, etc. I’m excited about that, since I just got my car in October and I love the car I’m not real happy about stuff breaking on it. We’ve got to replace the flip up lights motor, and the driver’s side window just went off track so we need to fix that too…It’s always something.

pontiac firebird

Anyhoo, it’s Saturday night and I finally have some much needed time to myself. I am going to catch up on my blog, then read a book or watch some television or write another chapter for my book. A few hours ago I took a long hot bubble bath, shaved my hairy legs, and have been relaxing since. Mr. Rockstar picked up his daughter and they went to his parents house to hang out with them. He’ll come back later this evening and then in the morning he and his friend will attempt to fix my car πŸ˜€ (keeping my fingers crossed), and go to Lowe’s to get the right plug thing for the dryer, as well as a paint brush and rollers so can start painting the dining room and kitchen this week. Oh, and my new kitchen light fixture will be put in tomorrow. I’m excited. Mr. Rockstar’s friend is used to home repairs, and since Mr. Rockstar isn’t this gives him a chance to learn some stuff. Give Mr. Rockstar anything to do with electronics, wiring, electrical stuff and he’s good to go–he’ll have the dryer fixed, just like he fixed our stove. He’s learning, and willing to learn, and that is what is important. πŸ˜€

In a few hours he’ll be home, and I’ll feel happier just knowing he’s here, even if he goes to bed early and I’m still up. It’s funny how that works, at least to me it is, because this is the first time in my 4o something years that I’ve been in a happy, healthy relationship where my lover, spouse, significant other… is also my best friend. We truly enjoy each others company. Though I’ve missed him since he’s been gone I’ve enjoyed the quiet time, the “me time.” I enjoy being sprawled out in the recliner with my throw blanket reading a book and sipping my wine, or at the computer doing my “thing,” as he calls it. It’s nice sometimes to have a bit of time for yourself, especially when you don’t have to really think about what’s next on your “to do” list (I was ordered by him not to do anything around the house–no washing dishes, washing clothes, cleaning anything…”spend some quality time on yourself…Do whatever you want to do…Read a book, watch a movie…just do something that relaxes you.) So I have been.

Even though I’ve looked at the kitchen several times and wanted to finish doing the dishes, or clean the laundry area so that when he gets the dryer hooked up tomorrow I am ready to attack the laundry. Even though I’ve looked at my bedroom and longed to sort through more clothes so I can get rid of some more stuff so I have room–let’s face it, even if I lose the 30 pounds the Dr said I need to lose I’m probably not going to fit into some of that crap I’ve hoarded for the past 10 years, no matter how nice it is, no matter how expensive it was and how pretty it still is, no matter how much I want to fit into those size 4 jeans that were my favorite I’ll be doing really good to get back into a 6 by the summer time. And I’m okay with that. What I am not okay with is being unhealthy. Part of the problem with the weight are the tumors in my uterus (I stay bloated), but I can still lose weight and I’ll feel better once I have.

So tonight is about me. It’s about figuring out the healthiest way to lose the weight, exercise and not over do it, and be the healthiest and happiest me I can be. Tomorrow morning I start walking πŸ˜€ Tonight, however, I am enjoying my wine and my chocolate and my time to myself. I’m so thankful for my husband, who knows me so well that he knew I needed some time to myself and understood that.

*on a side note: I finished typing this and hit publish but the internet went out thanks to the weather 😦 so I’m finally getting a chance to post it.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “A Saturday night to myself–some much needed me time

  1. andy1076

    February 3, 2013 at 7:01 am

    That’s a lot of thoughts and tasks planning in one day whew!

    They do say that our significant other, Is also our best friend. Stay safe and warm, hope there are no more power outages πŸ™‚

     
    • Lissa

      February 3, 2013 at 7:14 am

      Thanks!
      LOL! Yeah, I was on a roll. It’s not often that I feel able to just do whatever makes me happy without worrying about doing something constructive, but over the past 6 weeks I’ve had to slow down (thanks to the pain), which means there are times when I over do it. Earlier today, as well as earlier during the week, I over did it and suffered because of it. Thus, the “me time” and the order from my husband to NOT do anything around the house, but my brain was still in “do” mode. Now it’s time to crawl into bed and crash! Enjoyed my wine though πŸ˜€

       
  2. purpleborough

    February 3, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    I loved the part of wine and chocolate…mine would have been red…no hubby or significant other…you are lucky to have found yours.

     
    • Lissa

      February 3, 2013 at 3:32 pm

      Normally I’d have had Duplin’s Carolina Red (which is one of my favorite’s) with the chocolate, but I didn’t have any and didn’t feel like going to the store. We’re both lucky. We both had bad experiences with past relationships, and neither of us were looking when we found each other, add to that finding your “better half” when you’re 40 something and 30 something gives us an added edge–we already know what not to do and what doesn’t work :D. Thanks for your comment.

       

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about blogging and digital marketing

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

