RSS
Quote
04 Feb

Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally? 

Major changes, like quitting smoking or deciding to live a healthy lifestyle (dieting doesn’t work per se so you have to actually change your lifestyle–eat right, exercise), take time. Even if you quit smoking cold turkey you have to change your mindset or you might start back the next time there is a major stress-or in your life. I’ve been trying to quit smoking now for the past 2 weeks. I’ve been changing things incrementally. My husband managed to do it quicker, but he was sick for part of the time, which made it easier for him. It’s hard to smoke when you’re sleeping a good bit and throwing up when you’re awake. For me, not as easy because I was awake, stressed out because he was sick, and the electronic cigarette helps but it’s not the same. I have, however, cut way back. Instead of smoking a pack a day, I’m down to smoking a pack every three or four days and using the electronic cigarette in between. Within the next few weeks I’ll quit regular cigarettes all together and then I’ll just be using the electronic cigarette. I’m hoping that I’ll eventually quit using that as well. But I’m a smoker. I enjoy it. It makes me happy. My only problems with cigarettes are the smell, and the health issue. Big issues I know, but I enjoy smoking and I’m not ready to give it up completely yet.

“The world as we have created it is a process of our thinking. It cannot be changed without changing our thinking.”
― Albert Einstein

Health and exercise? I have spent the last few months, especially since I found out about the uterine tumors and the need for a hysterectomy, trying to eat healthier. I need to lose 30-40 pounds so I need to start exercising more. Once I’ve finished this post I’ll go walking. I’m not a morning person, so walking early in the morning doesn’t work for me. I usually go around mid-day, it makes me feel better and gives me energy. And the more I exercise the less I want to smoke, so it’s a good thing all the way around.

“Some changes look negative on the surface but you will soon realize that space is being created in your life for something new to emerge.”
― Eckhart Tolle

Some changes are not always from a choice you make but because it is forced on you, and then you’re left feeling like change is a bad thing. Like when someone breaks up with you or when you’re laid off from your job or when someone dies. Things change, it is a given, and sometimes it all depends on how you look at it. For example, if you mope, cry, continue to wallow in the melancholy and depression then things grow stagnant, but if you allow a bit of anger to seep in then you begin to change your attitude, then you begin to change things. When I was first “let go” from my job a few years ago I was sad, depressed, and just a big angry and scared. I wallowed in those feelings. But the anger kept surfacing and I realized I had been done and injustice. Woe is me, I thought angrily. Yet underneath the woe is me a new attitude began to surface. Wait a minute, hold onI hated my job. I hated all the hours of overtime I did not get paid for. I hated how I constantly felt like I was teetering the line where my principles were, and I had wanted a change. A change. Now I could have that change. Even though the change had been forced on me, it didn’t have to mean it was a bad change. YAY! I thought. No more long hours, no more battling my principles so I could keep my job, no more under-appreciated and over worked me!  So I began to think about what I really wanted to do with my life. What was my dream job? What could I do? Where did I want to be in a year, in 10 years?

“The changes we dread most may contain our salvation.”
― Barbara KingsolverSmall Wonder

Life has changed for me since I was let go, in many positive ways. Things are better in my life and I am a better person for it. Being let go from my job ended up being my salvation–I’d begun to get ulcers, my acid reflux was worse, I was having anxiety and panic attacks because of the stress from my job, and I was miserable. Things are different now. Once I embraced the change(s) and began to look at things differently I realized that being let go was a blessing. I could change things in my life for the better. I changed my attitude, and I began making real changes in my life. I took some time to relax and enjoy life, some time to smell the roses, and those small changes left me feeling rejuvenated. I began to feel more like myself, and I began to feel less stressed out and healthier mentally and physically.

“So many people live within unhappy circumstances and yet will not take the initiative to change their situation because they are conditioned to a life of security, conformity, and conservatism, all of which may appear to give one peace of mind, but in reality nothing is more dangerous to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future. The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”
― Jon KrakauerInto the Wild

I used to be afraid of change, now I embrace it. I am a work in progress and in order to continuously improve I have to embrace changing things, even if it is difficult or requires me to slow down and work on something one day at a time or to jump right in and change something. I think some changes require both–You have to jump in and make a big change and follow up with incremental changes.

 

Change for good or bad it is inevitable

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2013 in around here, Change, DPChallenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Change for good or bad it is inevitable

  1. purpleborough

    February 4, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    This is an excellent post; so many elements one could comment on and about…you seemed to have covered so many avenues…and the quotes are really tied in to the body. Kuddos for a great post on Change.

     
    • Lissa

      February 4, 2013 at 9:23 pm

      Thank you so much 😀

       
  2. Wiley Schmidt

    February 4, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    I love your use of the quotes! Well said!

     
    • Lissa

      February 4, 2013 at 10:49 pm

      Thank you 😀

       

What do you think?

 
meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about anything related to Blogging. Post any job related to Blogging / Digital Marketing for free.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

Live life, then write about it.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

