RSS

Just another cliche

25 Feb

Daily Prompt: Cliche Clichés become clichés for a reason. Tell us about the last time a bird in the hand was worth two in the bush for you.

cliches everywhereAs I sat down to write about today’s daily prompt I realized how often many of us see cliches in movies, commercials, television shows, billboards, etc. Much of the time we don’t think about it…they’re so over used we’ve become numb to them. Personally, I think there are very few cliches that are worth using, but as I thought about it, I realized I’ve used a cliche or two in my own writing.

glass is half fullFor example, I’m a glass full kind of gal. To me it’s either half full or I just need to get a different glass. Unless of course, it’s a glass of wine, then it should always be full. I tend to see the good in things most of the time. Recently, every time Mr. Rockstar and I turn around something is breaking. That in and of itself seems cliche, but it’s the truth. Yesterday, for example, he was trying to fix the window in the car (it won’t roll all the way up, it’s electric, and it’s not off track but for some reason it won’t…it’s got too much play in it) and he didn’t get it fixed. He walked in the house and said, “Well, I just made that &@#$^! worse!”

ain't brokeI let him vent. He needed to. Our dryer is broken, the window and the head light on the car are in need of repair (gear assembly needs to be replaced so right now until we can get the part my car is riding down the road winking at everyone), the home stereo thing needs a new output thing he says, and the bathtub faucet needs to be replaced because it is leaking–steady drip, drip, drip. I’ve often heard the cliche, “If it ain’t broke don’t fix it,” well around here there are a lot of things that need fixing, but we’re getting there “one day at a time,” “one thing at a time.”

love money clicheExcept us. We’re happy. We’re still newlyweds. We’re broke most of the time but we’re happy (how cliche is that?), and Mr. Rockstar recently apologized to me about being broke…How sweet is he? He was serious, and sincere, and I think I told him I’d rather be broke and have everything around us break than be with someone who didn’t love me, appreciate me, respect me, understand me, or give a damn about my thoughts, feelings, and well being. Money is wonderful as a means to an end, but it should not be your basis for happiness.

cliche or ironicSo as we meander through our “To-Do” list of what needs to be repaired in our home and with our car, we’ll try to remember that the “glass is half full,” and it “ain’t over till the fat lady sings.” No, money can’t buy you happiness, but it sure would help reduce my stress level sometimes. Choosing between fixing your car and your dryer and buying contact lenses (I am wearing my last pair) is not a good thing. It’s like being stuck between a rock and a hard place. But things will change soon enough. He’s staying at the job he has even though he’s overworked and underpaid, until he can find a better job with good benefits (that don’t cost an arm and a leg). And I’m stuck until we do get health insurance because working full-time is just too much while I’m in this kind of pain…Oh what a Catch-22 it is…

the preciousThanks for letting me have fun with words, this daily prompt was fun. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed myself with this one. Check out some of the other posts about cliches.

 

 

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in DPChallenge, home, life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Just another cliche

  1. kimcorsoro

    February 25, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    I loved reading this post. I am also happily married but always broke. I, like you am optimistic that our future will get better. I will keep up with your blog. Thanks!

     
    • Lissa

      February 25, 2013 at 11:21 pm

      Thank you. My mom always said, as cliche as it sounds, “I’d rather live in a shack and be happy than in a mansion and be miserable.” Well, we’re not in a shack, and our house is definitely not a mansion, but we’ve made it home. And since “Home is where the heart is,” we’re happy. Sure there is a lot of work to do, but we’re getting it done bit by bit. I just keep reminding myself that even Rome wasn’t built in a day. (The more I think about all the cliches that are out there, the more I want to add to the post,and I have to remind myself to just leave it as is…lol.) Thanks for keeping my blog 😀

       
  2. terry1954

    February 25, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    very good post!!! thanks for the ping back

     
    • Lissa

      February 25, 2013 at 11:24 pm

      Thank you! I really enjoyed this prompt, both writing it and reading the posts for the prompt. 😀

       

What do you think?

 
meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about anything related to Blogging. Post any job related to Blogging / Digital Marketing for free.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

Live life, then write about it.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

