RSS

DP Back to the Future

01 Mar

Daily Prompt: Back to the Future

 A service has been invented through which you can send messages to people in the future. To whom would you send something, and what would you write?

I have a husband, a son, a daughter, a step-daughter, and a grandson. I’d want to write a letter to all of them, and to any future grandchildren I might have. Do I have to choose one person? I think I don’t. I think since it’s my post, and my letter I will write each one at least a short letter.

Dear Mr. Rockstar,

(Don’t freak out, I’ve sent this letter from the past.) It’s the year 2013 and there are a few things I’d like the future you to know. I love you. You are the love of my life. You’ve made me the happiest I’ve ever been. Before you, I’d almost lost all hope of ever having love, not that I didn’t believe it existed but I didn’t believe it existed for me. And then we met. When we took our vows we took them forever and always, not just until death. I meant that. And you’ll be my love forever and always. But if I’m not around, I don’t want you to wallow in grief. I don’t want you to shut people out and become a hermit. Nor do I want you to be alone for the rest of your life. Spend time with the kids, the grandkid, and your family. Spend time with friends. Play the guitar and sing. Be good to yourself. Be happy. Live your life to the fullest, even if I’m not there to share it with. And remember, the next go round maybe we’ll find each other sooner. But I want you live the best life you can while you have it. You ROCK and I’m so glad that we met and I’ll be here when you get here.

Forever and Always,
Lissa

Dear Doug and Maria,

From the moment of your birth, though it was a close call with Doug, I’ve been so proud and so happy. I want both of you to remember that life is what you make it. As difficult as life can be sometimes, it’s the simple things that matter. I made mistakes as a parent, as a person…But that’s what life is about: living and learning. I’d have spent more quality time with you, I’d have spent less time worrying about other things and more time enjoying each and every moment with you. I’d have taken you on vacations and I’d have gotten on the slide and swings more often. I can’t change that now, but I can tell you a few things that might help you in the future and as parents or just as individuals.

Live life to the fullest. Life is made of moments, and it is the moments that make the difference. Remember to find joy in the small things and to appreciate those simple things. When someone makes you smile, laugh, think…enjoy that moment and appreciate it. Appreciate the people in your life who make you smile, laugh, and think. They are important, you’ll need to keep them around. Don’t take anything for granted. Remember that regardless of what happens in your life you are strong enough to handle it, even if it doesn’t feel like you are. And remember that being brave doesn’t mean being stupid. Stand up for yourself but don’t trample over anyone else.

Being a single parent is the toughest job there is, and no one is perfect, but it’s possible, especially if you have support like family and friends. If you have children, and Maria you already do, remember that no matter what they come first. But in order to be a good parent, especially when you’re doing it alone, it’s important that you’re a happy and healthy person too. You can’t take care of anyone else if you’re not able to take care of yourself. Be good to yourself not just your kids. And remember that they are your kids while they are kids, you’re the parent, later once they are grown you can be their friend. It’s sometimes difficult to not cave in when they have that pouty puppy dog face and crocodile tears streaming down their faces but be consistent, patient, brave, and loving. Temper discipline with love.

Most of all, be happy. Life is too short not to be. Let go of the past, and move on. Don’t hold grudges, they keep that negativity brewing inside of you and it makes it harder to be truly happy. And remember, I love you. I’ve loved you from before you were out here in the world, when you were growing inside me, until the moment I passed on from this life. You are my greatest accomplishments. You’re my pride and joy. And I am proud of both of you. Be the person you want to be. And hopefully, you’ll find a career that you love. You should live life not have life live you. Remember I love you!!!!

Love,

Mom

Dear K___,

When your dad and I met we were both a package deal. You are so sweet, pretty, smart, and kind. You’re a lot like your dad (laid back, patient, sweet, smart…) and he’s so proud of you. Remember that. You are his pride and joy. And I’m so proud to be your step-mom. You can do anything you want, be whatever you want. Do not limit yourself. But most of all be happy. Life is truly too short not to. I wish I’d gotten the chance to get to know you better, to spend more time with you. But I’d like for you to know that I love you. And I’m so glad that you’re a part of my life.

Love,

Lissa

Dear Viktor (MeMe’s little man),

I cannot describe to you the joy that you’ve brought into my life. Your precious face makes me smile no matter what is going on. You are so beautiful, smart, humorous, and adorable. I could not be more proud. One day you’ll want to know things about me, about your mom and dad, about your grandfather, your great grandparents, and know this: people can research their ancestors, they can get the names and the where they came from when they died and when they were born, but what’s important can’t be gotten from research or from names. You come from a family filled with smart, crazy, loving, humorous, attractive, patient and impatient, brave, and kind people. I could tell you stories, and I will write a few more letters telling you about various people and things that happened, but the important things for you to know are simple:

Love, kindness, patience, compassion, affection, respect, honesty, trust, and courage. Those are the things that matter. Love and you will know love in return. Show kindness and it will be given back to you. Be patient and you won’t be disappointed as often or as stressed. Be compassionate towards others and towards yourself because none of us are perfect and we’re all going to need compassion. Show affection and appreciate when others are affectionate to you. Have respect for yourself and demand it of others and give others respect…the world definitely needs for people to be more respectful. Be honest with yourself and others. Without respect and honesty trust is impossible to build. And be courageous–don’t be afraid to try new things, or to meet new people, or to be open-minded.

When you’re not sure about something take the time to think about it. See what your guts tells you. If your guts says no, or isn’t sure then it probably isn’t a good thing. Remember to have patience with your mom. She’s an amazing and wonderful mom, and I’m so proud of her, but she’s human and she’ll need you to be patient with her at times. Tell her you love her. Tell her you’re proud of her. She’ll need to hear it just like you will. Remember that life is what you make it. You can be whatever you want, if you want to be a lawyer then go for it, or if you want to be a computer programmer, or an artist, or a doctor, or a truck driver. You can be whatever you want just make sure it’s something that makes you happy.

I might not be around when you get this letter, but I want you to know how very much I love you and very proud of you I am. You’ll always be my little man and I’ll always love you. Be good to your parents. Parents don’t last forever, we get old…or we die young. I love you, Viktor.

Love,

MeMe

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2013 in death, DPChallenge, family, friends, grandchild, home

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “DP Back to the Future

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about blogging and digital marketing

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

