RSS

Day 29 My imaginary dinner party

03 Mar

dinner party

Day 29 – List 10 people, dead or alive, you would invite to dinner. Include the dinner menu.

Good morning. It seems I’m hosting a special dinner party and am allowed to invite ten guests, alive or dead, and I must come up the menu and the guest list immediately. Let me start by saying: I have a new husband, a sweet 7 1/2 month old grandson, and I’d like to show them off. So with that in mind, here’s my guest list:

 

  1. my daddy (who has been dead since 1975)
  2. my (paternal) grandfather who has been dead since 1985
  3. my (paternal) grandmother who has been dead since 2004
  4. Mr. Rockstar
  5. Mr. Rockstar’s mom
  6. and his dad
  7. my son
  8. my daughter and grandson
  9. my mom
  10. and (step) dad
  11. David’s uncle Tommy (who has been dead since 2006, I think)

I just wrote a post about someone or something you miss and I wrote about my daddy. How I’d like to sit down with him and have a cup of coffee, at least, and conversation. Since I am a newlywed, I finally found the love of my life, and I have this beautiful new grandson, I can’t imagine being able to have a dinner party with whomever I want, regardless of the law of physics and various other laws, and not inviting those I would really like to see again. And I can’t imagine not inviting Mr. Rockstar’s parents and the uncle whom he lost and was extremely close to.  I imagine there are some people who are wondering why I’d invite me (step) dad to a dinner where I’m inviting my daddy but you’d have to understand our family dynamics. I’d want my daddy to meet my dad. My dad has been a great father, and I’d be proud to introduce them. And my daddy would be happy to meet my dad, I think, and I also believe that my dad would want to meet my daddy. Now maybe it would be hard on my mom, like it would probably be hard on Mr. Rockstar’s dad seeing his brother again (Mr. Rockstar’s uncle Tommy’s death was extremely hard on his father for numerous reasons–they weren’t just brothers they were best friends, and Mr. Rockstar’s dad is the one who found him–he’d been murdered in his own home, which is the home we live in.)

So here’s my menu:

Steak, shrimp, and veggies (bell pepper, squash, zucchini, onions, and those baby tomatoes) on the grill. Baked potatoes, garlic bread, salad, and sweet tea or wine. Tomato bisque soup with mozzarella cheese sprinkled on the top. And I’d serve a cream cheese pound cake with strawberries and cool whip for dessert, with coffee of course. And I’d serve a variety of appetizers such as: spinach and artichoke dip with fresh homemade bread (my daughter has gotten really good at baking bread), hummus and pita bread, chicken wings seasoned with lemon and pepper, and various cheese and crackers.

We’d start with soup and salad.  We’d have the appetizers. Then proceed to the main course. Then we’d have time for coffee and dessert a little later on. With breaks in between each course so we had plenty of time for conversation. I’d want to ask my (paternal) grandfather about his family, there are all these things I don’t know, like where in Scotland did his people come from. And I’d like to ask my (paternal) grandmother the same things…about her family. I’d like to tell all of them how glad I am that they were a part of my life and what a difference it made. Now, if I could invite 15 people I’d also invite my step grandparents, my (maternal) grandmother and grandfather, as well as my aunt Myrtle (maternal side, died in late 90’s), as well as my uncle’s Michael and Johnny (who were my daddy’s brothers) and my aunt Paulette (daddy’s sister). I just went one over, but you know what I mean.

Now it would be fun to have a dinner party with a whole different group of people like Lincoln, Kennedy, Einstein, Poe, Dickinson, Plath, Hemingway,….But that’s for a different post and a different party.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2013 in 30 Day Blogging Challenge, family

 

Tags: , , , ,

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

