RSS

Seven Days

07 Mar

are-you-an-angel-or-a-devil

Daily Prompt: Seven Days You wake up tomorrow morning to find all your plans have been cancelled for the next seven days and $10,000 on your dresser. Tell us about your week.

The fun loving adventurous side me of says, “Hell Yeah! It’s vacation time!” But the oh so practical side of me says, “Excuse me, Lissa but you have a few more important things to attend to.” So like the practical but fun loving person that I am, it’s time for a compromise.

I took the $10,000 and hid it in a well concealed place (“If I told you I’d have to kill you.”). Then I made coffee and while the coffee was brewing I took a shower, then got dressed. While I drank my coffee I took out my “To-Do” list. Yes, you know the one? The one that has all the stuff you need to do, then a list of all the things you want to do, and at the very bottom that one thing you’d love to do with a little star by it.

  • Get dryer repaired 
  • Change oil in car
  • Get frig fixed so it no longer leaks on floor
  • Get headlight fixed in car
  • Get central heating and air replaced in house
  • Replace flooring in kitchen or see about gluing it back down by the back door (find out the name of the person who put it in and kick him in the damn shin for doing such a piss poor job)
  • Photography classes (save the money so you can pay for it outright, it’s less expensive that way)***

(My To-Do list is actually much longer than that, but those are more important items on my list.)

So with my list in hand I begin making phone calls. I call the heating & air guy, get him to come out and give me a quote. Then I call a couple more people for quotes. I take the best deal for my money, do I won’t go with the cheapest unless it’s a great deal. I’m not a cheapskate,but you do get what you pay for–so, I’m checking into things.

Next, I call the guy and make arrangements to have our dryer fixed, and while he’s at it can he please fix the frig….

I also order the parts for the car, you know that damn headlight kit that costs $134, the whole kit has to be ordered but all I need is part of it, not sure of why I have to get the whole damn thing, but such is life. While I’m out ordering the part I have the oil changed in the car.

Next, I go by and order 6 mths worth of contact lenses and finally get myself the pair of bifocals I’ve needed but have avoided getting like the plague because I’m just too young to need freakin’ bifocals. Oh well. I guess I am getting old.

So to feel younger I head over to the hair salon and have my hair trimmed and colored. I can’t remember, oh wait I do remember, it was right before my wedding so it was six months ago, the last time I had my hair cut or trimmed. And I’ve been coloring it (to hide the gray) myself. I’m on a roll now. I feel good. I’m out and about, I’ve had my hair done, and made arrangements to have appliances repaired, ordered the parts for the car, I can see, and I look good. Now it’s time to get the ball rolling a little more.

The floor is too expensive to replace right now, $10,000 only goes so far. And Mr. Rockstar and I had the briefest of honeymoons (2 nights and 2 days in Charleston, SC) so I book the hotel for next weekend. It’ll give us a little getaway, which we could definitely use. Nothing like being newlyweds with a house that needs repairs and a wife that needs repairs. 😀 And while we’re there we’d have to go see a movie. Maybe we’ll watch a movie in 3-D. I’ve never seen one in 3-D.

I call the DR and see if there is anyway that we can schedule the surgery, even though I don’t have insurance. I’ve heard about a program that some hospital’s have and we have one an hour away. I could go ahead and get the private health insurance but we couldn’t afford the $500 a month payment. Or I could use the whole $10,000 for the surgery but that wouldn’t cover the whole thing so…Back to square one with that issue.

I would pay for photography classes and get myself a better camera. I’m not talking about one of those super expensive ones–not quite ready for that yet, but I definitely would go up a notch from my Canon PowerShot and maybe go to the Rebel.

And I think I’ve pretty much covered everything except I’d have to go by the book store and get a few books. I LOVE books and there are a few out there I haven’t gotten that are part of series I read because we just haven’t had the money. And I’d have to get my grandson a few books and some toys. There’s no way I’d have extra money and not do a little something for the little man in my life. 😀

Money can’t buy you happiness, it’s true, but it can definitely ease some of your burdens and stress. Without the $10,000 and the week of time off I’d still be happy, but it sure would be nice to have some time off and some money to enjoy the time off with. Right now I have time off and no real way to enjoy it except with writing and reading. But Mr. Rockstar still goes to work every day, so giving him a week off and a way for us to have a getaway and get a few necessary thing knocked off our To-Do list….I’m a happy camper! 😀

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Seven Days

What do you think?

 
meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about anything related to Blogging. Post any job related to Blogging / Digital Marketing for free.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

Live life, then write about it.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

