RSS

Smiling through the pain

11 Mar

some people just hide it betterAfter my eventful trip to the dentist on Friday afternoon, and then our date night Friday evening, which he spent about 20 minutes of in K-mart trying to find me some Sensi-Gel or OraGel, he’s so sweet. And then Saturday we cleaned part of the house before we left to go to my parents house so my dad’s friend could finish fixing the driver’s side window (the weather channel said we’re getting more rain this week and the idea of yet more rain slowly pouring into my new (used) car and eventually ruining it doesn’t appeal to me at all. Dad’s friend is fixing it for us for free, so I’m happy. He knows we’re in a tight spot right now, and all he asked is that we keep him company while he fixes it and that we have a few drinks with him (we brought him an 18-pack of Bud Light) and Mr. Rockstar had a few beers with him and I had almost a whole bottle of wine. My tooth wasn’t hurting by the time I got halfway through the bottle. But the idea of drinking so I can numb the pain in my tooth and my uterus doesn’t appeal to me. I’ll end up an alcoholic before I can get everything fixed (not a good idea).

I'm fineMr. Rockstar took one look at my face Friday evening and said, “You’re in a lot more pain than you’re letting on.” I nodded. I won’t lie to him. I don’t lie to to him, but I’d tried to hide how much pain I was really in so he wouldn’t worry so much. It’s so much easier to hide the pain from people who don’t really pay attention, but he actually pays attention. I think my daughter must have talked to my mom and realized how much pain I’m in, or exactly what having the uterine fibroid’s means because she’s much more understanding now.

Today I’m supposed to run errands. I have a few things I need toi love you in any condition do, but I’m in a great deal of pain right now, I think the antibiotic is working because instead of just the constant pain I also now have this throbbing pain. I’m assuming the antibiotic is clearing up the infection. And then on top of that, my whole female area: womb is aching, I can feel the pain all the way through from front to my lower back. I’m swollen again–look like I’m about 5 months pregnant. I feel like an alien has taken over my body. My body is no longer my own. It doesn’t feel like it belongs to me anymore. It’s filled with pain constantly. My stomach looks swollen and pregnant, and I’m not. It hurts all the damn time. And I feel like I no longer know who I am or what I’m doing. I’ve lost my way and the pain just tears at me until all sense of direction is gone.

Voice-to-Pain-72During the day I am home by myself and I try to get a few things done around here: I’ll wash dishes but I have to do it in phases because standing up at the sink for a long time like that washing and rinsing and all of that constant movement hurts and by the time I’m done, if I don’t break it up into phases, I’m not much good for the rest of the day. I can sit, as I sit here and type, but after a little while I have to get up and stretch. Until I broke the heating pad I was oftentimes sitting with the heating pad either pressed against my back or my stomach so that I felt better. I’ve broken yet another heating pad.

So now I’m trying to gather the strength to get up and gotough times don't last get dressed (I’m still in pj’s) and then go run the errands I need to run. So far, I haven’t gotten enough strength together. Some days it’s all I can do to walk around, even getting up to go to the bathroom hurts, so getting up and getting dressed and then leaving the house and driving somewhere or to a few where’s and all that walking and getting in and out of the car just seems like way too much. So I sit here at my desk, in the comfort of my home, which my husband works really hard to maintain, and I drink my coffee and I write. I’m working on my novel, but the past few days I’ve been having a little bit of writer’s block. I’m guessing it’s the additional pain from my tooth that has me distracted.

I’m very lucky that my husband is so supportive andpain is temporary caring. He tells me not to worry about it, not to overdo it, and to go ahead and write my book, maybe we’ll get luck and it’ll be a best seller–I don’t care about that part, though it would be nice, I just want to be published. I love reading and writing, and if my words help inspire someone then that would be so amazing and awesome. I’d feel like I really accomplished something. So I sit here with medication on my desk, a reminder that I need to take the antibiotic again at 3 PM, and the pain medication at 2 PM. I have to go to the DR tomorrow. Fun! And I need to call the oral surgeon some time today or tomorrow and try to make an appointment, if he’s part of the network. We have dental insurance and vision, but no health. We just couldn’t afford the $150 a week, and then still have a $10,000 deductible—what kind of craziness is that?

when you're in painYet I feel lazy, worthless, needy, helpless, lonely, and angry and sad all at the same time. I hate being in pain like this. It’s debilitating. I feel like there’s someone holding my body hostage. I want to be free of this damn pain so I can live my own life, my real life again. I want to go back to being able to clean the whole house in a day, to  being able to have sex whenever I want to and not having to wait until I’m having a good day without much pain. I want my own life back, I want my “self” back. But until then, I’ll continue to do the best that I can, and part of that means hiding the pain behind a smile when anyone’s around.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2013 in around here, Happiness, Health, home, life, love, Mr. Rockstar, Normal, Pain

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Smiling through the pain

  1. cyril

    March 11, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    Hello Lisa insightful thoughts and life stories…”Don’t cry over the past; cry to get over the past. don’t smile to hide the pain; smile to heal the pain.”

    Thanks Cyril

     
    • Lissa

      March 11, 2013 at 2:14 pm

      Thank you. 😀

       
      • cyril

        March 11, 2013 at 2:22 pm

        Always Welcome Lisa..good luck

         
  2. Multifarious meanderings

    March 11, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Sending you hugs from France. Hang on in there xxx

     
    • Lissa

      March 11, 2013 at 2:08 pm

      Thank you so much. 😀

       
  3. The Presents of Presence

    March 11, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    Lissa, sending hugs ~ ever try reading You Can Heal Your Life by Louise Hay? Just a thought. xo

     
    • Lissa

      March 11, 2013 at 8:15 pm

      I’ll see if the library has it. Thank you. 😀

       

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

