RSS

180 Degree Turn

14 Mar

One week before Halloween in 2009 I left an almost 10 year relationship. I talked about it a little in my post Love is passion. Obsession. You can’t… , and as far as I was concerned I was done with relationships. Though I knew love existed, I did not believe it was for me–for whatever reason I was meant to be alone and I was okay with that. It took me almost a year to find the ME that I’d misplaced in that almost 10 year relationship, as well as the bits and pieces of me I’d lost a long time before that when my ex-husband decided he was single while we were still married (I was in my early 20’s way back then), so the idea of jumping into a relationship with anyone was pretty much null and void. Not going to happen, I thought. I swore off relationships and just enjoyed being single.

I should never have said never. Oh but I did, and later I would eat those words.

When Mr. Rockstar and I began seeing each other we were just spending time together at first. We became friends. Then before I knew it he’d become one of my best friends. Almost 2 months after we went out for the first time, I realized just how attracted to him I was, just how much I enjoyed spending time with him, and how every time I was away from him I missed his presence. Since I’d made so many changes when I left the EX, I was a bit put off with myself–Was I really falling for him? Was I really seriously considering getting INVOLVED with someone? Yes, I was and I did.

When we got engaged six months later most people who knew me were a bit shocked…WHAT? You’re engaged? You’re getting married? A friend of mine said, “Hold on a sec, YOU are getting married? He must be one hell of a guy!” And one of my cousins said, “WHAT? You don’t do marriage. Are you okay?” But another cousin said, “WOW! You must really love him…He must treat you really good…”

And as I began to plan the wedding I soon realized why I didn’t do the WEDDING thing, but was more than ready for the marriage part. I We got through the wedding planning, and just before our wedding while we were out for our Bachelor/Bachelorette party (yes, we had a combined one, we have many mutual friends plus we’re both older, though I’m a bit OLDER, and we’d both already been married, and we’d been living together soooo)…a guy we know hits on me. His exact words were, “You sure about this. You could always have that one last fling or you could just bail and come with me.” I was flabbergasted. I just said, “Thanks  but no thanks.” And right on over to Mr. Rockstar and hugged him for being the wonderful person and man that he is.

I don’t regret changing my mind about marriage. I never had a problem with marriage itself, I just never believed it was for me. After my first marriage went KAPUT I always said, “I’d rather just live in sin…” But when Mr. Rockstar proposed I knew in my heart that it was the right thing and on our wedding day I knew it was the right thing. I’ve been blessed and I’m so glad I changed my mind about marriage.

Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees

by michelle w. on March 14, 2013

Tell us about a time you did a 180 — changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2013 in Change, DPChallenge, Happiness, life, love, marriage, wedding

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “180 Degree Turn

  1. Dave Walker

    March 14, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    After swinging and missing on two marriages, I was in the same boat and had sworn off marriage. My wife had gone through a crappy marriage as well when we first met. We were content and happy just living together.

    All that changed in 2011, when we decided marriage actually felt right. We were married on 11/11/11 and the third times is definitely my charm.

     
    • Lissa

      March 14, 2013 at 12:35 pm

      Thanks Dave. When we met we’d both been married before. I’d been divorced for almost 19 years, and he’d been divorced for almost ten. We’d both been in unhealthy/toxic relationships before we met so neither of us even wanted to date, much less get married. But it was the best decision I’ve made in a very long time. We were married 9/8/12.

       
  2. misselletea

    March 14, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    I bet he is glad you changed your mind too! 🙂

     
    • Lissa

      March 14, 2013 at 12:35 pm

      Thanks. I think we changed each other’s minds. He’d tell you he’s the luckiest man on Earth. And I have to say I feel like the luckiest woman on Earth. 😀

       
  3. cookiecharm

    March 14, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    Love this! I wish ya’ll much love and joy for years to come. Great post

     
    • Lissa

      March 15, 2013 at 12:04 am

      Thanks 😀

       
  4. Wiley Schmidt

    March 14, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    I love this! And did you change your background/appearance recently? I like it!

     
    • Lissa

      March 14, 2013 at 10:55 pm

      Thanks. I changed my theme a while back.

       
      • Wiley Schmidt

        March 14, 2013 at 10:58 pm

        Perhaps I should follow the blog so I would notice these things sooner. 🙂 I like the look and I love you. So there’s that. 🙂

         
      • Lissa

        March 15, 2013 at 12:03 am

        *Blushing!* Thanks 😀

         

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

{:de}Der Luftfahrt Blog{:}{:en}The Aviation Blog{:}

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

