RSS

My best laid plans always go astray

15 Mar

life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans

Daily Prompt: Comfort Zone

by michelle w. on March 15, 2013

What are you more comfortable with — routine and planning, or laissez-faire spontaneity? 

If you want to make God laugh tell him about your plans

The best laid plans always seem to get waylaid so I’ve learned the hard way to make tentative plans, but I’m a planner who likes spontaneity. Maybe it’s my sign, I was born on the cusp of cancer and leo, or maybe it’s my introverted extroverted personality, but there are some things that I feel like you have to plan while there are other things that require you to be spontaneous.

spontaneity carefully planned

For example, Mr. Rockstar is not a planner. He is definitely a laissea-faire kind of person. He is so laid back that he makes laid back look intense. Whereas, I am an intense kind of person who needs to make plans when it comes to certain things. I like order. I like plans, even if they are tentative. I like to know what’s going on, when, and where, and how. Tonight we’re going out for a friend’s birthday party. I needed to wash and dry at least a couple of loads of clothes this week, needed to at least wash my jeans I wanted to wear, and since our dryer still isn’t fixed it means I need to go to either the laundromat or someone’s house to dry them. Hopefully, we’re getting the dryer fixed tomorrow, but I told him 2 weeks ago to call his dad and get the number from the guy who can get the parts half price and will fix it himself for about the price we’d have paid for the parts. Has he called the guy yet? NO. Should I have called the guy myself? Probably, but he’s the one who gets the paycheck and takes care of our finances…So what happens if the guy is busy or already has plans? Once again, another week will go by and my our dryer will still not be fixed. And I guess I’m about to wash my our jeans (our washer works just fine) and put them on a hanger and hang them on the shower curtain rod so they’ll be dry in time for me us to get ready this evening.

road closed

Now on the other hand, I’m a spontaneous person in some areas. If I get the urge to have breakfast for dinner then that’s what we have. Or the urge to create will hit me and I’ll write or take photos or scrapbook or art journal or whatever I feel like doing. My desk is filled with creative clutter, but I know where everything is. However, I like for my kitchen to be completely organized. If I had the space in my closet I would have everything completely organized, even color coordinated, but my closet is too small, and I have my clothes spread out between that closet and another one. (Frustrating to say the least.) Last night Mr. Rockstar was talking about rearranging our bedroom so there’s more space and if I weren’t afraid that I’d pull something or over do it I’d have already rearranged it. Instead of just talking about it. The urge to go in there and do it anyway is a bit overwhelming.

Plan-to-be-Spontaneous-Tomorrow_6175-l

Now, as I write this post I’ve made a pot of coffee, and am on my third cup. I’ve already cleaned most of the kitchen, and yet I’m still in pj’s and it’s one o’clock in the afternoon. I’ve already checked my email, and FB, and researched appropriate photos and quotes for this post, as well as read 95% of the posts related to today’s prompt. I’ve already put that load of jeans in the washer and now I’m just waiting on them to finish so I can put them on hangers. The world is such a great place. I was watching something on television the other day and was reminded of when people actually had to hand wash everything, when people didn’t have running water much less washers and dryers. So don’t get me wrong, I’m thankful for all that I have, but I really want my our friggin’ dryer fixed.

get-happy-experience-life1

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not mad at him over it. We couldn’t afford to buy the parts, we had to fix the car (half the time he uses it to go to work) and without the car I we wouldn’t have transportation. And the weekend before that it was something else, but I don’t remember now. And the other day he tells me that the reason the headlights looked so dim Tuesday night when we were coming home from visiting his dad was because the headlight, yes that same damn headlight, has gone out and we need a new bulb for it. So every time we get something fixed and make plans to fix something else, then something else breaks. It’s a never ending cycle and we can’t make plans to fix things when something else comes up that takes priority over it. (Like me going back to the dentist and having the tooth pulled because having a root canal is too expensive and they don’t really work half the time–been there done that already.)

winston-churchill-quotes-sayings-wisdom-plans

Well, enough about all of that. I’m a firm believer in having a plan B, not just one plan, because plans often go up on smoke sometimes. But I also believe in being able to embrace spontaneity. (Great now the washer is making a funky noise…Guess I better make plans to get that fixed as well, OH JOY!). I’m going to embrace spontaneity and kick the washer and then go spike my coffee or maybe vice versa.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2013 in around here, blessings, Change, decisions, DPChallenge, home, life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “My best laid plans always go astray

  1. TammyeHoney

    March 15, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    I rotate my clothes from Winter to Summer so that I can color coordinate lol…I only have one closet my hubby has two. Thank you for your post and for the ping back

     
    • Lissa

      March 15, 2013 at 1:47 pm

      You’re welcome. Poor Mr. Rockstar only has half of a closet. And I’m about to put the winter clothes in the storage containers that right now contain the summer clothes (they’re stored in the attic) so that we have more room. 😀

       
  2. Lissa

    March 15, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    Okay, so the shower curtain rod fell, “Oh happy day!” Another thing to fix. LOL! I adjusted my plan and hung to pair of my jeans on the door sill of the guest bedroom and hung his 2 pairs of jeans on the door sill of the bathroom. And I hung my green sweater and shirt on the door knob of the bathroom. I can do this!

     
  3. Theresa Jewel Ammons

    March 15, 2013 at 9:22 pm

    My plans always go astray, too. However, I often forget I can make another plan or have “Open” spaces on my agenda. Please check out my post, “Planning everything accomplishes nothing” at http://jewelammons.wordpress.com.

     

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

