RSS

Impossibility

18 Mar

Alice in Wonderland 6 impossible things before breakfast

Daily Prompt: Impossibility What are the six impossible things you believe in? (If you can only manage one or two, that’s also okay.)

impossible defintion

I’m not sure of where it came from but I grew up with the notion that all things are possible, though a few things might be improbable. My dad’s favorite saying was, “There’s no such thing as can’t. You either will or you won’t. You either do or you don’t.”  And he instilled that in me and my brother, and my two children. If you say the word “can’t” around him he’s going to tell you that there’s no such thing, and we all have that same mentality. My nephews have gotten it some, especially my oldest nephew Jacob. We all tend to take the word “can’t” as a dare.

Always seems impossible

So when the prompt came up I automatically began thinking about all the things I thought would never happen, that were impossible or even improbable, and the things I still sort of view of as impossible. Now I could list the things that seemed impossible or I was told were impossible and I actually accomplished, but that’s not what this prompt is about–it’s about the six things I believe in that seem impossible. I don’t think that there is much that is impossible but for the sake of the prompt I’ll try my hardest to come up with six things.

possibility of impossibility

  1. Ghosts: I believe in ghosts. Our house is haunted by Mr. Rockstar’s uncle. And I grew up with ghosts: My daddy’s ghost haunted the house I grew up in. And my grandparents lived in a townhouse in downtown Charleston, SC that was haunted  by at least 3-4 ghosts. I had tea party’s with them.
  2. Reincarnation: I believe in it. (That’s a subject for a whole new post, oh wait I think I wrote one already. I’ll have to check.)
  3. I’ll finish my novel, and another one, and I’ll eventually have at least one published. Have a book signing, and the whole nine yards. Though it’s unlikely I’ll be the next Stephen King, James Patterson, Nora Roberts, Nicholas Sparks, Vonnegut, or C.S. Lewis, but my name will be out there.
  4. My daughter will eventually get into her art again and begin selling her artwork. Or at the very least she’ll put her talent to good use.
  5. I believe in karma and that what comes around goes around. Eventually all the good that I do, that Mr. Rockstar does, will come back and everything around us will quit breaking (at almost the same time or back to back.). (And those whose Karma hasn’t hit yet, the Karma bus will eventually find…)
  6. That I will lose the 30-40 lbs the Dr suggested, and that the surgery (whenever I finally do have it) will take care of this pain I’m in constantly (and the tumors are benign) and I’ll healthy and happy with my new self–after all, I’ll be fit, healthy, tumorless, and rocking the 40 something’s.)

I could actually have listed a few more like World Peace, seeing the good in others, the New Star Wars agenda, that they’ll bring back Bobby on Supernatural, that the next Dresden Files book will be equally awesome, that I’ll finally get over my writer’s block in regards to my novel…. Oh my list goes on and on. LOL!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Impossibility

  1. ysobelchristie

    March 18, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    I do believe in karma also !

     
  2. theloneshewolf

    March 18, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    Bobby?? Really??!!! I am soooo behind in the supernatural universe…. *sigh*

     
    • Lissa

      March 18, 2013 at 1:00 pm

      He died in Season 7. And his ghost was haunting them for a while trying to help them. 😀 And he did. But I’m hoping they’ll bring him back 😀

       
      • theloneshewolf

        March 18, 2013 at 1:01 pm

        AH I fell off watching regularly in season 6 and I’ve never caught up. :S

        It’s on my astronomically long “To Watch” list.

         
  3. djmatticus

    March 18, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    Oh! And Karma and reincarnation!! Those are great ones too. I like the bit about getting your name out there… I’d say, you already have, each and every time you hit publish here on Word Press, but, I know what you mean. 😉 I think that one is definitely just a matter of time.

     
    • Lissa

      March 18, 2013 at 2:23 pm

      Thanks! I’m working on the writing. I was published several times a long time ago for a short story, and a few poems, but never paid 😦 but there’s something about being published, and about a dream deferred that is finally becoming a reality that gives me hope. I’m writing again and that’s what matters. 😀

       
      • djmatticus

        March 18, 2013 at 2:28 pm

        Happy writing! I’m looking forward to when you get published again (and this time for pay) and I get to say “I knew you when.”

         

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

{:de}Der Luftfahrt Blog{:}{:en}The Aviation Blog{:}

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

