RSS

I have my cabin-mates for Camp NaNoWriMo

19 Mar
NaNoWriMo Camp

NaNoWriMo Camp (Photo credit: arboltsef)

Wow, that was quick! It’s my first time participating in Camp NaNo WriMo in April. I’m excited. I tried to participate in November but our internet went Kaput, then the computer died and my son was using my laptop for school (because his went kaput, something about replacing the board). So now that the internet issue is fixed, and my desktop is fixed, I’m on my way. This time I will succeed. I will finish my goal of 30,000 words for the month of April.

IMG_1001

My inspiration board, filled with my note cards for my novel for Camp NaNoWriMo April 2013

I’ve already got my index cards ready. I’ve put a few on the cork board I’ve got above my monitor, and I have more cards I’m working on for plot, theme, scenes, etc. I’m in the process of making my outline now. Usually I’m a wing it kind of writer. I don’t usually do the outline thing, but I thought I might want to get better organized and so some much needed research. I’ve attempted a novel several times (way too many times to count) but this time around I have the support (Mr. Rockstar backs me in my creative endeavors 100%) He read a rough draft of my first 25 pages to make sure I was on the right track with the character and he loved it. He’d read the first 20 pages of the previous attempt, which just wasn’t cutting it for me. The character and plot were missing something huge and it just wasn’t IT for me. So I kept the first name of the character and started all over. And that’s the key, I think. Finding your character. Figuring out what he or she would do, does do, is about, likes and dislikes…I’ve been searching for the character not just a plot, and I’ve finally found her. Now it’s time to figure out what makes her tick.

IMG_1003

The beginning of my novel

To me writing is cathartic. I have always read books or written, or taken pictures or sketched/drawn. I’m not much of a painter unless it’s walls or furniture. I love any all things creative though. And my husband loves that about me and supports me completely. I’ve never felt so supported and it has actually opened the door of my creativity wider, allowing me to make scrapbooks, to art journal, to take better photos (thanks to last year’s birthday present from Mr. Rockstar) and to write with more depth.

IMG_1002

My coffee cup and my extra ink.

So I’m looking forward to April’s Camp NaNoWriMo with enthusiasm. I’m just so excited! I’ve even re-organized my desk so that I’m ready to write.

My "how to" write a novel books, etc and my blank index cards

My “how to” write a novel books, etc and my blank index cards

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “I have my cabin-mates for Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Creative Mysteries

    March 19, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Sounds great! And I love that coffee mug 🙂

     
    • Lissa

      March 19, 2013 at 5:10 pm

      Thanks. I got it for when I’m writing so that my coffee doesn’t get cold as quickly. Have yet to get an actual mug warmer, but I will 😀

       
  2. basijas2013

    March 19, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    Sounds a lot of hard work! Good luck. Been showing Hubby about it as he’s always starting his novel, but not getting much further, and he wasn’t sure that many volume of writing in such a tight time frame was within him!

     
    • Lissa

      March 20, 2013 at 12:08 am

      You can choose your word count in the Camp. I chose 30,000 because the November NaNoWriMo is like 50,000 and I don’t think I could do that much, at least not on my first attempt, Someone else who wrote about it in a post chose 25,000. For me, 36 pages double spaced in Times New Roman font is about 11,000 words. That’s where I’m stuck at in the novel I’ve been working on. 😦 I’ve got a bit of writer’s block. But when you’re writing for the NaNoWriMo you can choose to write “Stuck here: need a nickname…Need a minor character…Need to figure out what’s going on here…” and then go to the next scene or chapter or whatever so you can keep writing. It’s more about getting it done so you can feel good. It’s about writing not editing. So I’m looking forward to it. Writing on my own I’m more apt to try to edit, to look back on stuff, than to continue writing.

       
  3. djmatticus

    March 20, 2013 at 11:13 am

    Have fun at camp! I thought about participating in camp this April because I had such a blast last November, but with the new addition to the family schedule to show up any day now I just couldn’t see myself having the time (or desire) to write as much as would be needed. Hence my recent foray into guest posting and getting a bunch of those lined up for the next couple of weeks. Speaking of which… any interest in doing a guest appearance over at the matticus kingdom?

     
    • Lissa

      March 20, 2013 at 11:36 am

      I’d love to. And you’re right, you’re not going to have much time at all. 😀 But it’ll be awesome and amazing.

       
      • djmatticus

        March 20, 2013 at 11:39 am

        Great! You can email me at djmatticus@yahoo.com and we can work out the details. I’d be happy to post whatever you come up with, and I can send you prompts too if you want a nudge to get going.

         
  4. Pete Denton

    March 20, 2013 at 4:29 pm

    You are well prepared. Bring on camping 🙂

     
    • Lissa

      March 21, 2013 at 9:58 am

      I’m a little nervous but excited at the same time. Last night was downloading templates for story boards, character boards, and outlines. 😀 As well as doing some more research for the novel. I’m hoping I won’t freak out and the words will flow.

       
      • Pete Denton

        March 21, 2013 at 5:48 pm

        Have fun with it and I’m sure the words will flood out. 🙂

         

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Everything that connects you to blogging

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

