RSS

Today is International Happiness Day

20 Mar

International Happiness Day

According to The International Herald Tribune:

The United Nations has declared March 20 the first International Day of Happiness to underline the commitment of its 193 member states to “better capture the importance of the pursuit of happiness and well-being in development with a view to guiding their public policies.”

6 steps to happiness

So I’m getting my HAPPY on. I started my day out with the things that make me happy.

  • I made a fresh pot of coffee
  • I checked my email and FB
  • Texted my husband Mr. Rockstar
  • Washed a load of clothes so Mr. Rockstar has some clean jeans and hung them on the line (We’re getting a new dryer Friday evening or Saturday morning–Oh Happy Day!)
  • I talked to a few friends and family members
  • I took a few pictures

now and then it's good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and just be happy

So now I’m writing a new post, I’ve already written one for the DP. Now it’s time for some Lissa writing.

Man is ...of his own happiness

So what am I thankful for, happy about, and how can I make others happy. I’m a happster, I’m just waiting on my happy notes to arrive in the mail. But since today is International Happiness Day I thought I’d write a post about happiness.

happiness and coffee with a friend

As I sipped on my first cup of coffee this morning I was talking to a friend from high school on FB…she always makes me smile. We found out we have the same exact Hamilton Beach coffeemaker. Ours was a Christmas present from one of Mr. Rockstar’s sister’s the Christmas before last–and I love it! It keeps the coffee warm and fresh, first cup to last cup, for 2-4 hours–your choice. Of course, I chose 4 hours because during the day it’s just me here and I can drink almost a whole pot of coffee by myself.

Being happy is being married to your best friend

I’m happy that I’m married to my best friend. I’m happy that I have such a wonderful family and awesome friends. I’m happy that I’m a grandmother and that my beautiful grandson is healthy and such a happy baby, and that my daughter is such an amazing mom. I’m happy that both of children are in college. I’m happy that I have such wonderful in-laws, who don’t feel like in-laws at all but family. I’m happy that my computer is now working and the internet is now up and running the way it is supposed to. I’m happy that I have clothesline poles in the backyard and can hang clothes on the line when I choose to (well, after we get the dryer Fri or Sat it will be by choice, right now it’s by necessity).

Whoever is happy will make others happy too

I’m happy that I’ve met people on WP that are just so nice, and that I am able to read and share such intelligent and interesting posts in this format. Sometimes I really wish there was a like button for comments though. 😀 I’m happy that I now have 15 likes on my FB page for the Lissa Chronicles. Check it and like it if you get a chance: https://www.facebook.com/TheLissaChronicles.

happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

I know what’s like to be unhappy. I know what it’s like to be so happy you glow with it. I much prefer the glowing happiness. The key to happiness is the small things. Taking time to smell the proverbial roses, as well as the fresh air and sunshine; to find the beauty in the simplest of things; to appreciate what you have; to like what you get and be happy about it; to be satisfied with what you do have but know that you can do better and have the self-confidence and gumption to go out there and do what makes you happy, or to make the changes you need so that you can be happy.

Choice to take a chance

A few years ago I made a choice, took a chance, and made some serious changes. All of that put me on the path towards Mr. Rockstar. It wasn’t an easy path to get on, the journey was filled with u-turns, yields, one way streets I had to navigate around, pot-holes, and many obstacles, but I made it and it made me a stronger person, and each day I was on that new path I was happier person.

happiness is the soundtrack of my life

Now I’m the happiest I’ve ever been. It’s in part because I’m married to such a wonderful person who is my best friend, but it’s also because I took a chance on myself. I made a choice to be happy and began making the changes necessary to be happy.

a truly happy person can enjoy the scenery while on a detour

Life is filled with opportunities, even if we don’t always see the opportunity. Take a moment today, while it is International Happiness Day, and think about what makes you happy, think about how you could put a smile on someone else’s face and make someone else happy; and SMILE!!! and be HAPPY!!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 20, 2013 in appreciation, blessings, Change, Happiness

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Today is International Happiness Day

  1. basijas2013

    March 20, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    Being happy should be simple but sometimes we have to work on the concept!

     

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about blogging and digital marketing

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

