RSS

Around here

21 Mar
Chilling with my socks and slippers on...

Chilling with my socks and slippers on…

Though the temperature is a little chilly for Spring around here, I’m enjoying the weather. I’m sitting at my computer in a tank-top and light weight sweater on, a pair of old jeans, and some socks. I slip my leather clogs or my bedroom slippers on when I walk away from the computer–depends on what I’m doing. And I’m sipping coffee out of my mug.

For years I worked 50-60 hours a week, I dressed up every day. I worked Mon-Sat, and by the time Sunday came I was exhausted but it was the only real day I had to do anything like socialize, clean, etc. Now that I’m not working and I’m home I’m enjoying it. I can hang my clothes out on the line when it’s nice weather, there’s nothing like the smell of clothes dried by fresh air and sunshine, especially when you use a really good liquid fabric softener. I’m busy at home doing things like cleaning, writing my book, writing posts for my blog on WP, taking pictures, reading, cooking, laundry, and trying not to over do it since I’m in pain most of the time.

Clothes on the line in our backyard.

Clothes on the line in our backyard.

But I enjoy the time I spend around the house. I do wish I got out more though. As I take a break for a little bit from writing my novel…I’m getting ready for CampNaNoWriMo,  I thought I’d post a few photo’s.

As we settle into the house, we’re about to move furniture around since we gave my daughter my recliner because it rocks and she didn’t have a rocking chair for the baby, we have a lot more room in the living room. So we’re moving my desk into the living room and I’m going to get my dining room back. YAY! I’ll be so glad when my son moves out, though, and I have my own study again instead of my computer and desk in a public area (though Mr. Rockstar prefers that I am in the same room with him, even if I’m writing (and not paying him any attention).

My coffee stuff: the Folger's bin actually has Splenda in it.

My coffee stuff: the Folger’s bin actually has Splenda in it.

Around here we love coffee. I have my kitchen decorated in coffee stuff. I prefer Dunkin’ Donuts or Starbucks or Chock Full O’Nuts or Seattle’s Best or 8 O’Clock. But Mr. Rockstar prefers Folger’s Country Roast or Classic Roast.

We drink quite a bit of coffee. My friends on FB often tag me in pics that have coffee and are humorous, which makes my day :D.

One of the things that Mr. Rockstar and I did a lot when we were getting to know each other was go somewhere and have a cup of coffee and talk or I’d make a pot at home and we’d sit around my living room and talk,. We’ve had a lot of great conversations over a cup of coffee.

Coffee themed pictures on the wall in the kitchen :D

Coffee themed pictures on the wall in the kitchen 😀

So I decorated my kitchen in a coffee theme. As part of my wedding present my mom got us these really cute

Coffee themed towel and oven mitt's and pot holders. Oh, and my tea kettle (I do drink hot tea as well).

Coffee themed towel and oven mitt’s and pot holders. Oh, and my tea kettle (I do drink hot tea as well)

towels, oven mitt’s and pot holders with coffee cups on them. I need to find two rugs with the coffee stuff on them. (I’m going to decorate the dining room with a wine theme. The living room has a music theme.)

I know, I know, and what’s worse is that I want to do our bedroom in a travel theme. Take pictures of all the places we visit and mat the pictures and frame them and put them up on the walls. I’ve already got one up from our honeymoon and it’s gorgeous. It’s of downtown Charleston at night. I’m thinking of doing my study in something completely different, when I finally do get my study back..Maybe I’ll have some kind of book theme for my study. That would be cool.

The front of our humble abode.

The front of our humble abode.

Mr. Rockstar isn’t really big on decorating, and the moment I mention how we’ve got the paint to paint the living room I just need the rollers and brushes, he says, “I’m tired just listening to you.” LOL! But he does tend to love what I’ve done once it’s finished. 😀

So I’m hoping that by the end of the Summer we’ll have at least the living room, kitchen and hallway painted. As well as the outside, which we’re going to paint white and have black shutters, and I’m going to paint the front door red. I’ve really got to clean off our front porch. I have a box of those little solar lights that go up your driveway and around your steps I need to put out ;-). And we’ve got to cut our grass.

Just another day around here. The trees and flowers are beginning to bloom though. The neighbors across the street have dogwood trees that have already bloomed and they are so pretty. Have a great one.

Neighbor's dogwood trees that have bloomed.

Neighbor’s dogwood trees that have bloomed.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2013 in around here, decorating, home, Photography, pictures

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Around here

  1. Multifarious meanderings

    March 21, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    Thanks for this insight into your home… I had a giggle at your decorating plans, it makes me think of that 1959’s song with Doris Day singing “A woman’s Touch” 🙂 Looking forward to seeing that red front door – I love red!!!!

     
    • Lissa

      March 21, 2013 at 4:18 pm

      You’re welcome. Thanks. Me too–the red door and I love RED! Mr. Rockstar wasn’t so keen on it to begin with until we saw a house with that color scheme and it had a “red” door. I told him it would bring out the brick, right now that tan and brown just does nothing for it at all. BLAH!

       

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

{:de}Der Luftfahrt Blog{:}{:en}The Aviation Blog{:}

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

