RSS

Tears of Joy

28 Mar

We cry for lots of reasons: sadness, pain, fear . . . and happiness. When was the last time you shed tears of joy?

snoopy what if we were just gratefulYears ago I cried at the drop of a hat. I was overly sensitive, but life and maturity made me stronger in a way, but at the same time it took something from me. Don’t get me wrong, I still cry when I watch a really sad movie, or when I watch ET and he supposedly dies….And Mr. Rockstar thinks it’s cute. It’s one of the things he loves about me. For example, I’ll be in my recliner reading a book and I’ll laugh out loud or I’ll start crying and he’ll say, “You okay?” and he’s smiling when he says it. He’s just making sure everything’s alright. I’m just swept away by emotion.

Being swept away by emotion is a good thing especially when you are shedding tears of joy. I believe that the last time I cried happy tears was when my daughter was looking through the scrapbook I made her for Mother’s Day. I gave it to her the other week, which is early I know, so that she could gather pictures I don’t have or have access to so I can make some more pages. She began to cry because she was so overwhelmed by it, and they were happy tears. She said, “This is so much better than a baby book.” And it is. I left room on various pages for her to write stuff. I left some room on a few pages for her to add pictures to. She was crying because she was so happy I’d taken the time to make it for her, and I was crying because she was happy so I was happy. ย Happy Happy Joy Joy!

And the last time I cried before that because I was swept away by happiness has to do with Mr. Rockstar. He surprises me with little things, just because, and sometimes it’s a flower, sometimes it’s coffee, sometimes it’s doing the dishes, sometimes it’s cooking dinner or bringing dinner home,….I began to cry over something he did that was sweet and considerate and he said, “Baby, you okay?” I nodded and told him they were happy tears and he said, “Oh okay. Those are allowed.” And he smiled at me.

(Life is good when you can cry happy tears!)

Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2013 in DPChallenge, family, Happiness, home, life, little things, love

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Tears of Joy

  1. Mr. Atheist

    March 28, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    It is amazing what makes one cry. I just remembered something while reading this post. Mind if I share? ๐Ÿ™‚ (I love a captive audience.)

    I am (might become a “was” soon) a Star Wars fan. Seeing Star Wars for the first time as a child at the Chinese Theater in Hollywood to the drive-in for Empire (6 times) back to the Chinese for Return of the Jedi (with my Blue Harvest patch on my Members Only jacket). How ’bout them credentials.

    When I started dating my wife-to-be you can imagine my horror when I found out she had NEVER seen ANY of the STAR WARS films. She would stop and ask questions while we would watch the movies.

    “Why did he do that?”

    “Why didn’t they just…”

    Mind you, I have watched all of these movie countless times. When I say countless, I mean it. I don’t know. I know I can practically recite ESB with a one or two cues.

    When we get to Empire, she is in. She “gets” it. Awesome. A few more questions… Until Yoda looks up and says… “There is another.”

    Not a peep from her.

    She’s invested and she is getting it and then…

    Princess Leia expresses her true feelings for Han Solo as he is about to be transformed into a solid mass of Carbonite.

    “I love you.”

    And then, like a throw back to the old films of the 40s, Han Solo response…

    “I know.”

    I look over at my own Princess Leia. She is weeping.

    “Seriously?”

    “That was so sweet.”

    Needless to say… I wept. For the first time. Ever. I cannot tell you the reaction I had with the end of Return of the Jedi….

    It took my loving wife-to-be for me to find the humanity in Empire.

    — Your post reminded me of this… Sorry if I took over. But thank you for reminding me.

     
    • Lissa

      March 28, 2013 at 4:33 pm

      You’re more than welcome! I think I was about 10 or so when Star Wars came out. Still a big Star Wars fan ๐Ÿ˜€ Loved your story ๐Ÿ˜€

       
  2. eof737

    April 6, 2013 at 8:38 am

    Happy tears are always good. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  3. Priceless Joy

    December 31, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    Ahhh, this is sweet. I love that you call your husband Mr. Rock Star. ๐Ÿ™‚

     

What do you think?

 
meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about anything related to Blogging. Post any job related to Blogging / Digital Marketing for free.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

Live life, then write about it.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

