RSS

The past few days have been rough

28 Mar

Doing the best that I canI’ve sat down at the computer several times over the past few days to write, but each time I began the mouse acted up, or the pain hit me hard, or I just felt overwhelmed by all of it: everything breaking either at the same time or back to back, like the dryer and then the washer making funny noises, the microwave a few months ago, the head light on the car, the spark plugs and wires and the coil pack, not to mention the driver’s side window that wouldn’t roll all the way up (and the windows are electric)…

And then I’m in pain almost constantly but when the shooting pains, those overwhelming pains that make me double over and it’s all I can do to stand up for a few minutes or walk to the bathroom. And forget doing dishes or cooking dinner or hanging clothes out on the line or sometimes even taking a shower because I have to stand there for a good bit of time…

Pretending to be happyYou know it’s sad when you’re in so much pain you dread taking a shower even though you know it will make you feel better and you’ll feel refreshed. Well the past few days have been rough. First I got insomnia because of the pain. Then I was hurting more because I didn’t get much sleep and had to help my daughter with the baby because she had an 8-10 page paper due. I did too much, which only made the pain worse, plus the lack of sleep didn’t help. Yesterday the damn mouse for my desktop was going crazy. It kept freezing and I couldn’t do anything witout every time I turned around clicking Control Alt Delete, and that’s not a good thing. I finally gave up. Though I did manage to moderate some comments and check my email from my phone.

I admire those people who can stay calm despite painWe had a late dinner because I didn’t feel good and Mr. Rockstar cooked dinner (red pepper and garlic creamy tomato soup with grilled pepper jack cheese and honey ham sandwishes with sweet tea–YUMMY!)  I went to bed early. I slept on and off, and finally got up in the wee hours of the morning. I got up, the mouse was still misbehaving. I’d had the virus and maleware scans running overnight, which turned up nothing. So it wasn’t that. It had to be the damn mouse. I read some more. I am currently reading Kevin Nearne’s the Iron Druid Chronicles. I’m on the second book, Hexxed. I fell asleep while reading, about half an hour after I’d taken the pain medication, which I don’t really like to take. I woke up just before Mr. Rockstar got home. He got off early today so after he got home and had a cup of coffee we went to Staples and got a new mouse. I also got some colored post-it notes, some more Sharpie pens, and had the pictures from our wedding developed finally so I can make the scrapbooks for our mom’s for Mother’s Day.

If the sea were to drag me down

From pinterest…

When I have to go run errands it always drains me and leaves me in immense pain, and since I was in pain before we left it only got worse. But there were things to do. Mr. Rockstar got the clothes off the line while I began washing the dishes. Once he was done he took over washing the dishes so I could cook. He likes my cooking way better than he likes his own, lol! So we had Hillshire’s smoked sausage with onions and zucchini and squash with garlic and herb couscous (first time trying that), and some crescent rolls. Dinner was awesome, if I do say myself. but by the time I was finished cooking Mr. Rockstar made our plates and I made our glasses of sweet tea and I plopped my butt right on the couch and pushed the recliner lever and ate my food while I watched Criminal Minds. And tomorrow I’ll watch last night’s episode of Supernatural on the computer. I’m so happy I have a new mouse and that my computer is working :D.

tough times don't lastI was in too much pain to sit at the computer to write, but I did my post for today’s Daily Prompt. The past few days I just haven’t been able to (because of the mouse as well as the pain). But what the past few days have taught me is that I can take a day off from things, including housework, the computer, writing, or whatever. I know that I’ll be busy next month. I have 2 scrapbooks to make, and CampNaNo starts on April 1st. I’ll make it through all of those projects, and I’ll have fun and I’ll be a stronger writer, as well as a happier person. Making scrapbooks for other people makes me happy. I like cataloging memories like that, and making it personal, and seeing the smile on their face when they look at it for the first time. My daughter began crying when she was going through the one I made for her of my beautiful grandson. I began it with pictures of her that were taken at different stages of her pregnancy and went from there. And there’s room to add more pages to it. She said it was way better than a baby book. It made me feel so good that she loved it and that it was special to her.

Never DwellSo as I finish putting a few last minute things together, now that my new wireless mouse is all hooked up and working, I’m ready to try to get some sleep. It’s time for me to break out the Nestle Quik and make myself a glass of chocolate milk and take another pain pill so I can try to get some sleep. Mr. Rockstar is passed out in his recliner and I need to make sure his alarm is set. He’ll wake up and come get in the bed or he’ll sleep in the recliner :D, but waking him up is really hard when he’s that tired, poor thing. I’m so thankful that I married such a wonderful, generous, caring, and loving man. He really does know me well enough to know that no matter how much pain I’m in if I can do I will do, even if it hurts. He knows me well enough to know that as soon as he saw my face when he got home from work that today was a rough day. He often fusses at me for doing too much, and that my primary job right now is to take care of his wife. Until we have insurance and I can have the surgery the pain isn’t going to go away, and all I can do is try to make it through the bad days with a smile on my face because regardless of the pain I’m in I have the love of my life, a wonderful family, awesome kids, a beautiful grandson, and amazing friends. I’m blessed and I’m thankful.

I will keep telling you

Tomorrow is a new day.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “The past few days have been rough

  1. misselletea

    March 28, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    Sorry to hear about your pain 😦

     
    • Lissa

      March 28, 2013 at 1:46 pm

      Thanks 😀

       
  2. prayingforoneday

    March 29, 2013 at 12:02 am

    I can relate to all you say here..
    One thing. And this may just be me.
    I am a positive lad, or try.
    I believe if we expect bad things to happen they will.
    If we have faith that good things will come our way, they will
    And for me, and I can only speak for me, it works.

    Mind over matter? Karma? I don’t know.

    The shower issue you mention, BOY!! Can I relate. I go for one every day, but the agony getting in and coming out is awful, but when I am dried and clothed I do feel better, so I can relate.

    Great blog.
    Shaun

     
    • Lissa

      March 29, 2013 at 12:11 am

      Thanks so much. Most days my mind works great over my matter/body. But for those few days, and it happens about once a week, I have a day where the pain is just bad I am unable to do much at all physically. Sometimes I can sit and write, other times I can’t. I think that knowing it will be better, that tomorrow is a new day helps a great deal.

       
      • prayingforoneday

        March 29, 2013 at 3:31 am

        I do Audio blogs when I can’t type. And they are ok. My accent can be an issue (Scotland)
        Maybe give it a try?

        Shaun

         
  3. eof737

    April 6, 2013 at 8:42 am

    What is the source of your pain…? I have a chronic back pain from an accident in my dance class. 18 years later, it still flares up and I have to manage it by wearing a massage belt that sends shock currents to the area, and do exercises to keep my back supple. Constant pain can be incredibly draining… I so get it. Feel better!

     
    • Lissa

      April 6, 2013 at 11:29 pm

      I have uterine fibroids and need to have a hysterectomy but we don’t have insurance right now. The tumors are about the size of golf balls and gives the illusion sometimes when they’re flared up that I am about 5 months pregnant. Some days are worse than others.

       
      • eof737

        April 12, 2013 at 12:32 pm

        Good Lord! Sending you healing light and love… Prayers always. {hugs}

         
      • Lissa

        April 12, 2013 at 12:50 pm

        Thank you. 😀

         

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about blogging and digital marketing

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

