RSS

The Month of April and CampNaNo

30 Mar
Camp NaNoWriMo

Camp NaNoWriMo

Hello all! April 1st is fast approaching and I’ll be writing a novel in 30 days while participating in CampNaNoWriMo. I’m super excited. But writing 1667 words a day will be tough so I’m not sure I’ll be blogging every day. Speaking of, I haven’t been blogging every day this week (I don’t think) because I’ve been preparing for CampNaNo, and I’ve been in a great deal of pain this week. Stop hunching over the keyboard

My mouse is fixed, and I got one of those keyboard wrist rest things, which I love. Now if I could just get a new chair..Ahhhh My back would feel so much better. We were at Staples Wednesday or Thursday and we were going to get me a chair while they had this one I liked on SALE for $39.99 but OF COURSE they were out of them and they wouldn’t let me buy the display one, though Mr. Rockstar really didn’t want me to get the display one (germs, dirty, etc–yes, he has a bit of a germ OCD thing, but not too bad). So I’m stuck with my old office chair that is comfortable enough, but it’s the old kind with the metal balls that make it roll and two of the balls are missing out of the thing so it won’t really roll, you sort of have to half drag half roll it.

My posterboard for my novel for Camp NaNoWriMo

My posterboard for my novel for Camp NaNoWriMo

So now on to the writing, and Camp and how prepared I’m trying to be. I am using the trial version of Scrivener right now. I love it! I wish Scrivener and OneNote would have a baby and that would be my BABY of writing tools. I’ve also put up a poster-board with quotes, post-it notes with character information, along with my cork board that’s on the wall in front of my desk, which also has index cards with chapter information, etc. I’ve gotten serious about this novel thing. I will accomplish my goal and win Camp NaNoWriMo. I can do it! I am so excited. I’m hoping I will still be able to at least write a post for the daily prompts (the one’s that interest me) or post how I’m doing with my writing, or maybe just some inspiration…I’ll be busy but the blog helps me think and get my mind in the right gear for writing. Don't be a writer Be writing

I’m just not sure how supportive my family is going to be with it. Mr. Rockstar understands now that the Camp NaNoWriMo is to help me write my novel. A novel in 30 days? Well, I might not finish the novel, and it will definitely need to be edited, but I’m hoping I will at least complete my goal, and maybe even my book, and then I can take a break from it for a month and go back and read it in June so I can edit it. Whether I finish the novel or not isn’t as important as writing it is, or as important as accomplishing my goal. I’m hoping that they’ll be understanding though. It’s definitely going to be a change for them. You can tell how serious a writer you are

Stephen-King-quoteThe best way to write a book is just just start writing and keep writing. That’s the problem I’ve had previously–I’ll start a novel and get 3 chapters into it and then I get stuck, or I think it’s shit…and then I put it in a drawer and forget about it. I’ve done that with about 10 wannabe novels. No More!!! I found a quote by Stephen King that fits. I’ll be reading it quite often during the month of April :D. I’m awake, it’s 5:09 AM here. I’m the only one awake. I’ve been up all night. I’ve had a touch of insomnia lately because of the pain (though I think drinking so much coffee might also have something to do with it). Speaking of, while I was in Big Lot’s earlier today I picked up some more index cards, some more highlighter’s, an extra thing of coffee and a large thing of half-n-half, as well as some thumb tacks. I’m ready! Well, I’m almost ready. I still need to finish my outline. 12 and half writing rules

Scrivener (software)

Scrivener (software) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ll be back full swing with the blog May 1st :D.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “The Month of April and CampNaNo

  1. Creative Mysteries

    March 30, 2013 at 7:12 am

    I’m shooting for 43,000 in Camp. Depending on how things go I might not blog as frequently either. But posting excerpts, progress, and how your experience is going sounds like a good idea. I wish you the best of luck! If you’re looking for support you can check out this NaNoWriMo Facebook group. They go on year-round and they’re a great bunch. 🙂 https://www.facebook.com/groups/2204585636/

    I need to check out this Scrivener software. I’ve heard great things about it. Maybe it it could help me?

     
    • Lissa

      March 30, 2013 at 11:57 am

      My goal is listed as 30,000, but I’m shooting for 50,000. Thanks to the link for the FB group, I’m in 2 others already and it’s so much easier on FB than in the Forums to chat (I can’t tell when someone has responded to something I’ve written in the Forum, not sure if you can or if I’m such a newbie I just haven’t figured it out yet). 😀 I love Srivener. I am still learning the details of it, and I’m also backing everything up in an MS Word document, and on my flashdrive as well just in case. I’m so excited. This is my first real chance at NaNo.

       
  2. Creative Mysteries

    March 30, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    Happy to hear. Best of luck to you and most of all, have fun 🙂

     
  3. Susan B Raven

    March 30, 2013 at 12:52 pm

    My goodness! It can take me all day to compose a paragraph. I appreciate the writing tips. Good luck to you!

     
  4. tonettedelaluna

    March 30, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    Wanted to stop by and say hello. 🙂 I also have Scrivener at the ready. My apartment has mirrored closet doors so I have a huge writing area for ideas, mindmapping, and checklists. Something I’ve found to be helpful is Dragon Dictate. It’s an acquired taste but once you get the hang of it, your word count soars. (Editing that puppy is another thing, but NaNo’s about getting those words out.) Ha! I just realize if you ramble, leave it until the end of the month. Word count!!

    Good luck with your writing and see you at camp!

    Tonette

     
    • Lissa

      March 30, 2013 at 1:28 pm

      Thanks for stopping by. 😀 What is Dragon Dictate?
      Good luck to you as well.

       
      • tonettedelaluna

        March 30, 2013 at 4:55 pm

        Oh, that’s right. Per your bucket list, you’re still on PC. Dragon Dictate is speech recognition dictation software for Mac. For PC, it’s Dragon Naturally Speaking. Hand injuries and carpal tunnel led to the purchase. Also, you can create your story while lying down. Helps ease the back, too. 🙂

         
  5. Lissa

    March 31, 2013 at 11:57 am

    I have a speech recognition program through Windows that’s decent I’ve just never used it. I am in the process of checking it out. Not sure if I could dictate my story like that. But it would be helpful to be able to rest while I write my story.

     

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

