RSS

Encouragement makes a difference

04 Apr
My new little corner in our bedroom

My new little corner in our bedroom

Today was the anniversary of my father’s death–it’s been 38 years since my daddy passed away. Mr. Rockstar ended up off today due to the rain so we spent most of the day staying busy. It helps if I don’t have time to dwell on things so we completely rearranged our bedroom so we could fit my desk in there. Why would I give up having my own small corner in the dining room to have my desk crammed in an even smaller corner in our bedroom? Because I’ll actually have more privacy in our bedroom, plus there will be less noise, and I’ll be away from the kitchen, and I’ll be able to be near Mr. Rockstar when I write. He’d rather have me typing away, (click, click, click) in here than in the other end of the house. Besides, I really wanted our dining room table back in the dining room.

IMG_1065

He’s most likely going to be off tomorrow too, so tomorrow we tackle the guest bedroom/his daughter’s room and see if we can’t do something about the mess of stuff I have in there since he’ll be picking her up tomorrow evening and she’ll be here the whole weekend. We both want her to feel comfortable when she’s here and part of that is having some personal space…So there’s quite a bit of organizing and rearranging to do in there as well.

My poster board with Writing Stuff for my novel

My poster board with Writing Stuff for my novel

Now, my word count for today is low… My total word count as of right now (at 10:22 PM) is 10643, which means between 11PM and 12PM I need to write quite a bit. So I’m having a glass of my favorite wine and I’m writing this post and then I’ll be rocking and rolling for an hour. I was a bit stuck so I thought I’d write a blog post to help inspire and motivate myself.

IMG_1066

Mr. Rockstar is so encouraging and supportive of my writing that it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. ย He’s asleep in our bed and I’m at the computer writing and having a glass of wine and I now understand why he went through the whole hassle of re-arranging our bedroom toย accommodateย my desk–I feel much more at home in our bedroom writing than I did in the dining room, and this will work fine until my son moves out and I can use that room as my office again. When he moves out, I’m painting the walls my favorite color, I’m buying a really big cork board and I’m getting new office furniture ๐Ÿ˜€ Maybe by then I’ll have finished this novel, edited and re-edited, and maybe, just maybe, I’ll be in the process of having it published. Who knows? I’ll definitely be finished with photography school so I’ll at least have one wall for my photographs. But for now I’m in our bedroom where I’m closer to Mr. Rockstar and he doesn’t feel left out this way. And, at least he doesn’t snore. If the shoe were on the other foot I’m not sure he’d be able to write while I slept unless he listened to music as he wrote with headphones on :D.

Being happy is being married to your best friend

Camp NaNoWriMo finally put me in a cabin that is active–YAY!

Camp NaNoWriMo

Camp NaNoWriMo

Time to go back to writing! I have an assassin chasing my main character in a black van and he’s trying to run her off the road.

warning novelist at work

 

13 responses to “Encouragement makes a difference

  1. ioniamartin

    April 4, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    You can do it! Those are the same motivating words of encouragement I am trying to convince myself to listen to! ๐Ÿ™‚ Really, best of luck to you on your endeavor.

     
    • Lissa

      April 5, 2013 at 12:15 am

      Thank you. Good luck to you as well (I read your book, HIGH FIVE!). And it’s really all about a positive attitude. I feel so much better when I don’t let the doubts, insecurities, or negativity bring me down. I try to stay positive and if I can’t stay positive I try to stay busy. ๐Ÿ˜€

       
  2. Multifarious meanderings

    April 5, 2013 at 12:06 am

    You’re lucky to have a writer-friendly Rockstar ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love your optimism and your positive attitude on Life- you rock, Lissa!!

     
    • Lissa

      April 5, 2013 at 12:14 am

      Thank you. ๐Ÿ˜€ Mr. Rockstar says I’m the Super Star… LOL! And we’re both lucky. It took us a long time and a lot of broken roads to find each other.

       
  3. risingwoman

    April 5, 2013 at 2:05 am

    Yeah for encouragement – I am also super-sensitive to where I write. It changes from day-to-day, but once I find the ‘right’ place for that day, I’m off.

    And you are so lucky that your cabin is so active – the other 4 people in mine have not written a single word. So far, everyone is sitting at ‘0’ except me. I find this discouraging; I was really hoping for some interaction and support and cheerleading. But maybe they are just slow starters, and things will pick up this weekend (fingers crossed!).

    So, keep writing!

     
    • Lissa

      April 5, 2013 at 2:33 am

      Thank you. You can change cabins. This is the 3rd cabin I’ve been in.
      If I could use my laptop it wouldn’t be such a big deal about where my desk and desktop are, but right now my son is using it for college. Yay for him, sad face for me.
      Hope your cabin gets better but if not by this weekend I’d change cabins.
      Stay motivated and keep writing ๐Ÿ˜€

       
  4. sortaginger

    April 5, 2013 at 9:28 am

    Staying busy is a good thing, and it is good to have such a supportive husband too. Write on!

     
    • Lissa

      April 6, 2013 at 11:52 pm

      Thanks. He’s spending the night with his parents tonight so he can visit with them and give me some quiet time to write. ๐Ÿ˜€

       
  5. eof737

    April 6, 2013 at 8:35 am

    Sorry to read about your dad and sending you hugs and love. Best wishes on the Camp. I skipped it this year but did the November challenge. Maybe I’ll do this one next year.
    Eliz

     
    • Lissa

      April 6, 2013 at 11:51 pm

      Thanks. No matter how much time passes it’s always a rough day for me and I’ve found that the busier I stay the better off I am emotionally. My husband kept me really busy so I was thankful that I didn’t have time to dwell on it. I’m going to do the Camp in July and the regular NaNo in November. I’m hooked now. ๐Ÿ˜€ Great way to just get in there and write. Too much of my inner editor has been around lately when I try to write so this is great for me.

       
  6. rawmultimedia

    April 9, 2013 at 7:45 am

    it surely does…

     
  7. shanesbookblog

    April 10, 2013 at 7:11 am

    Love your desk!

    I also use a lot of sticky notes, my walls surrounding my desk are literally covered.

    And my desk looks pretty much like yours, cramped and small with my laptop sitting in the middle, the book’s I am currently reading or using for research purposes, my ash tray and pack of Marlboro lights =p and a bunch of papers and little trinkets/statues scattered yet somewhat organized laying everywhere, and of course my big planner notebook thing and my black leather embroidered notes notebook.

    Sometimes when I feel a bit frustrated or I just can’t seem to concentrate or focus my motivation I will also publish a blog post and it always seems to help.

    Hope you were able to get inspired, and good luck with your word count, keep up the hard work and I am sure you will reach your goal in no time! Easy peezy for such a gifted and talented writer like yourself!

     
    • Lissa

      April 10, 2013 at 5:56 pm

      Thank you. My desk was actually relatively clean in that picture. Right now I have 1/3 of a pack of Saltines on my desk, my smurf’s are all lying face down, I have mail I need to go through, and my coffee has turned cold and it’s time for a fresh cup. My son is using my laptop for college right now, which is probably a good thing–otherwise the couch or the bed would be covered with paraphenelia while I’m writing :D. I use composition notebooks for notes and folder for the stuff I printed out or found that’s relevant. I suppose I need to get an actually binder of some sort so that I can better organize everything.
      Sometimes when I need to get back into the mood of writing, or I need some motivation or inspiration I write a blog post, read a blog post, or watch a vlog. Sometimes I read a book. Depends on the mood. Today I’m having a bit of trouble with dialogue (the showing not telling thing is hard sometimes, well a lot of times.)
      Thanks for your encouragement.

       

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

