RSS

Day 6 of Camp NaNoWriMo

07 Apr
Cover of "No Plot? No Problem!: A Low-Str...

Cover via Amazon

I’ve been listening to the soundtrack to the television show Supernatural while I write. YAY! To mostly 70’s rock music. Plus I love that show :D. And my book “No Plot? No Problem!” by Chris Baty came in the mail today. YAY! I spent the majority of my morning with Mr. Rockstar (we had errands to run, which included picking up household items like bleach, Purex (which is what I prefer to wash our clothes with), toilet paper, bathroom and kitchen cleaners). We also had breakfast and coffee, well I’d actually call it brunch. Then we came home and I did a load of laundry; swept and mopped the kitchen, bathroom, and dining room.

Then it was time for a much needed nap for me. Over this past week we’ve rearranged our bedroom, moved my desk out of the dining room and into our bedroom, and I’ve cleaned and done laundry, not to mention the fact that I’m trying to put my winter clothes into bins to store in attic. So I’ve overdone it and have been in a great deal of pain the past couple of days. Mr. Rockstar ordered me to take a nap, and while I napped he fixed the lawn mower and moved our table and stools into the dining room. After we’ve hung the large picture on the wall in the dining room (which will hide all the small, um medium sized holes I put in the wall by hanging all my cork boards and inspiration stuff (yes, we’re going to have to get some putty and fix them and then repaint the wall) I will take a picture. But for now the dining room is a work in progress.

But my desk is not, it’s actually all set up and I’m in the corner of our bedroom and I like it so much better than being in the middle of the house in front of anyone and everyone who happens to walk in or is in the living room or going to the kitchen. It was distracting. It was great when I was home by myself and writing, but not once Mr. Rockstar and my son were home.

My word count as of right now is 14,216. I’m now on Chapter 4 and I think my chapters, at least chapter 3 is too long, but it’s an action chapter so maybe that’s why. I am not letting my inner editor get a hold of it though. It will stay long until after Camp is over and then once I’ve had a break from it and can read it with a clear and fresh perspective I’ll go back and edit. (I know it needs editing, keep quiet inner editor!)

I’ve opted out of the cabin and have decided that my own little cabin is much better than having cabin mates. I’ve joined a few groups on FB that are part of NaNoWriMo or Camp NaNoWriMo and am getting encouragement and camaraderie from those. I am also reading NaNo forums every other day or so. I’ve also found a few Vlogs about NaNo and Camp NaNo that are great. Makes me want to vlog. But I’m not so sure about how to do any of that or if I would want to. I know I can create videos from my camera, but I’m not sure that vlogging is for me.

I enjoy writing and posting pictures. On occasion a video.

Last night (Friday night) Mr. Rockstar and I picked up a new (used) chair for my desk for $20. The chair looks brand new and it’s so much more comfortable and it allows me to actually sit at my desk the way you’re supposed to (with my legs under the desk instead of at the desk. I love it! Once again, I am so amazed and grateful that I have such a supportive husband. I’m very blessed.

Problem: Dialogue  I am having a bit of trouble with dialogue, as well as showing not telling. That’s something I’ll continue to work on throughout the process of Camp and definitely afterwards when I’m editing.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Day 6 of Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. risingwoman

    April 7, 2013 at 8:56 am

    I finally got placed in a great cabin: everyone is around my age, everyone is writing, and people actually send each other messages. IT was my 6th (yes, really!) cabin assignment, after opting out of cabins with teens/ writing YA/ with word counts of ‘0’, and I had decided that it was my last go. If I ended up in a dead-end cabin again, I would just do it on my own. I’m glad I gave it one more shot!

    Great job on the word count, and on the work space 😉 Happy writing!

     
  2. adriejf

    April 11, 2013 at 10:21 am

    Maybe I should switch cabins… Hmm… I don’t mind my cabin not being too active though – more time to write! 🙂 That book is what inspired me to write 1,000 words per day this year, definitely motivational.

     
  3. Lissa

    April 11, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    I opted out of a cabin…I have been imagining myself in that cabin from the movie “Secret Window” only I’m not the crazy writer. I figured if I had to be in a cabin with youngsters who only chattered about video gaming and twitter, or mates who barely spoke, or mates who didn’t bother to show up and those who did didn’t bother to put in their word count and/or speak I might as well be in a cabin by myself. So here I am in my beautiful cabin with a nice cozy fire and a wonderful cup of coffee writing.

     

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Uncombed Cats & Cross-eyed Hens

Because the Muses Like to Annoy Me.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

