RSS

Napping, writing, and real life stuff

15 Apr

Snoopy Monday BleahSo I bypassed posting about Camp NaNoWriMo for quite a few days…I was busy napping, writing, and doing real life stuff like writing and napping, no we cleaned, organized, cooked, watched movies, and I wrote and napped. Seriously, pretty much all I did ALL day Saturday was write then nap, nap then write, and repeat. Saturday was CampNaNoWriMo’s Writing Marathon and I wrote in spurts. Sitting at the computer for 5-8 hours non-stop is not conducive to having uterine fibroids so I broke it up into increments. My husband stayed in pajamas all day and he and I napped together for a while, and then we napped separately. While I was napping he was applying for jobs on the computer and while I was writing he was napping. Then we just hung out and ate a late dinner and watched a movie. I did change out of my pajamas but it wasn’t until later in the day and then by early evening I was right back in those wonderfully comfortable clothes called pajamas, along with my fuzzy penguin bedroom slippers and my terry cloth bathrobe.

Photo Credit: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&docid=q5Zfwv3rksWaeM&tbnid=iyuq6AsPBW0uoM:&ved=&url=http%3A%2F%2Fcolourmefemale.blogspot.com%2F2010%2F10%2Fits-mondaywoo-hoo.html&ei=kqxrUeaaM5Hi8gTTkoCgCw&psig=AFQjCNH0tLx_47ETWmuXOfaXJu_CHXGTAQ&ust=1366097427174793

colourmefemale.blogspot.com

So how has Camp NaNoWriMo been? I’m at around 25,600+ words right now. And I’m about to start writing again. So I’m right on target, or just a little over. I’m not running out of steam, but the people around me, except for my husband don’t take it serious. My husband is proud of me, believes in me, and supports me, but even he doesn’t see it the way I see it, but then again I’m a little obsessive about it so he keeps me grounded, which is a good thing. I needed that sleep over the weekend. I’d been staying up late every night, until the wee hours of the morning writing, and I was sleep deprived and beginning to get grumpy. I feel much better now.

Yes, it is a little after 3 AM my time and I am up, but I just woke up. I went to sleep around 9:30 or 10 PM, and I  woke up 15 minutes ago. Put on coffee, and began responding to some comments on my blog, once I’m finished with this post I’ll respond to a few emails, then FB, then I’ll begin writing the rest of Chapter 9. I’m supposed to babysit Mr. Rockstar’s niece and nephew around 9:30 this morning so that my sister-in-law can go to her oldest daughter’s 2nd grade spelling B. I remember spelling B’s. I was in quite a few. I loved them. So I’ll be busy during my peak hours of either writing or sleeping, thus I’m up early and went to sleep early. My sleep schedule is back on track for the most part.

Snoopy MondayOne of the main reason’s I joined Camp NaNoWriMo was so that I could get inspiration, so that I could finish a novel (I’ve started several but have never finished one), and so that I could get back into the swing of things as a writer. I put my writing on the back burner for years and I used to write something, whether it was poetry or a short story or whatever every day. So instead of just dreaming about writing a book one day I decided to make it happen. I’m so glad I did. Like I’ve said before, I don’t care if the book is crap. I don’t care if it needs a bulldozer to edit it, I’ll have finished a book and that’s an obstacle to overcome–it automatically makes me  a winner.

So sorry my posts have been few and far between lately. I’ve been busy writing my novel in 30 days, busy researching things for it, and I’ve been keeping up with my reader (for the most part) so I’ve read a few posts from blogs I follow I just haven’t really been able to write my own. I’ll try to do better. 😀

Hope all of you have a great day!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Napping, writing, and real life stuff

  1. 1WriteWay

    April 15, 2013 at 7:45 am

    I ran my Camp marathon much the same as you ran yours … but not so much in my pajamas but mostly in my yoga pants which run a close second to comfy. The napping, too. It was a gray stormy day in my part of the planet, perfect for writing and napping. Congratulations on being at the halfway mark on your novel. I’m behind, but I’m hoping I can make up for lost time when my husband goes out of town and I can work uninterrupted. NaNoWriMo is a great way to get writing, although for NaNoWriMo 2012 I actually didn’t finish my novel. I made my 50k target, but I still need to go back and wrap things up. I’m afraid that might happen again so I’m thinking of writing the last chapter of my current novel-in-progress and then filling the rest in. Are you using an outline for your novel? Do you know how the story is going to end? I like the element of surprise for myself and I’ve never been good at outlines (always hated them when I was forced to do them in high school), but not having a plan could mean the novel goes on forever. Few writers can get away with that 🙂 I doubt that I am one of them.

     
    • Lissa

      April 15, 2013 at 7:54 am

      I had a brief outline of the main plot and subplots, a few scenes, but nothing concrete. I know what I want to happen but it’s sort of up to the characters. It was a grey, rainy day here as well. I do not think I will finish my novel when I hit the 50K mark, it will be longer than that, but I’m going to continue writing until it’s finished, without editing, even once Camp is over. Once I’ve finished it I’ll take July’s camp and revise it, maybe, or start a new novel. Not sure yet. I’m going to try actually outlining the next novel. This time I am half planning/half pantsing. That way I can figure out what works best for me. I have one pair of yoga pants and they were dirty, but my PJ’s were 100% cotton so they were awesome! I had to go to the store so I had to put on real clothes for about 1 hr :-(.
      I’ve just hit a little over 26K and it’s time for another pot of coffee. Today it’s a bit rainy so I’m going to write until the urge to take a nap overwhelms me.

       
      • 1WriteWay

        April 15, 2013 at 9:48 am

        Thanks for sharing your writing strategies. I might try using July to finish and revise my novel. It’s interesting to me how much I need some kind of structure to keep me on task, like NaNoWriMo. Have a good writing day!

         
  2. ioniamartin

    April 15, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    Exactly! The most important part is getting it down. All the polishing refining and other stuff comes later! You certainly are a winner in my book:)

     
    • Lissa

      April 15, 2013 at 4:51 pm

      Thank you. I’m going to have a lot work ahead but it’s worth it. 😀

       
  3. Nyx

    April 16, 2013 at 2:38 am

    Thank you for liking my latest posts! I’m glad you’re moving forward with your novel, it isn’t easy. I finished one last year, a fantasy one, and right now I am not certain I want to take that project forward. On the other hand now I’m not afraid to write another and another (which is what I am doing) because I know I can manage it. And I also realised that 90 000 words or so really isn’t all that much…

     
    • Lissa

      April 16, 2013 at 10:14 am

      You’re quite welcome. I’m finally past the midway point so it’s not as hard as it was in the beginning. I’m trying to wind down this chapter so I can move the next chapter upwards in momentum. And my writing is improving along the way.

       

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about blogging and digital marketing

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

