RSS

Assil…or Lissa Backwards in Bizarro World

19 Apr

100_1075.jpg

need coffee now

The Daily Prompt: The Bizarro World

In the DC comics universe, a planet called “Htrae” (“Earth” spelled backwards) is populated with bizarre versions of superheroes. A Seinfeld episode made the idea of this Bizarro World popular, where the characters encountered their opposite selves.

Craft a scene in which you meet an opposite version of yourself — or a story in a bizarre, backwards world.

 Meeting the opposite version of myself, sort of like How I Met My Mother’s doppelganger episodes, would be interesting. Everywhere I’ve lived at least one person has said, “Hey, don’t I know you?” or “You look just like…” even my husband saw what he swears is my doppelganger. So as I sit here contemplating my opposite version of myself I can’t help but wonder if she’d be my twin physically but my opposite personality wise… So that’s how I’m going to take it.
Assil would be an extroverted introvert. She’d be the life of the party! She’d be physically fit (since right now I’m in chronic pain that sounds so wonderful) and run marathons. She’d have OCD instead of ADHD, and her entire house would be organized and spotless. She’d be a published author and photographer. She would not procrastinate, and she’d never be late. But she’d be single and lonely. She’d live in the city in a fancy loft with too many casual friends and no real friends. She’d travel all over the place and love the sights and sounds but she’d have no one except her audience to share it with. She wouldn’t have to worry about whether she needed to choose between buying a whole weeks worth of groceries, putting gas in the car, or going to the doctor and getting medication. She wouldn’t have to worry about anyone but herself but there would be no one worrying about her, except her agent who just wants to make sure everything is on schedule.
I could go on…But the truth is I like me. I actually love me. Flaws and all. I am as fit as I can be considering I’m in constant pain. I have a husband and family who love me. My husband and most of my family actually appreciate me and enjoy my company. (Notice I said most, I’m living in the real world and I know that my ramblings, quick change of topic, tardiness, ADHD, and lack of real organizational skills do get on some people’s nerves on occasion.) I have finally started working on my dream and am writing a book. I’ve got an awesome starter camera (it’s a Canon PowerShot SX150IS) that was a birthday gift last year from my amazing and wonderful husband, whom I call Mr. Rockstar because he has the most amazing voice (he was in a band when we met: lead singer and guitar player). He has no idea of talented he really is. I have a beautiful and wonderful 9 month old grandson who lights up my world every time I even think about his sweet face. Mr. Rockstar actually likes my cooking. And I have coffee!  I have wonderful friends that I love, care about, and appreciate and who feel the same way about me. The life that we dream or imagine when we’re young, or when we’re having a bad day and think, “If only I could…” or “If only I were…” is often like that cliche… The grass is not always greener on the other side…
grass is greener
No, I’m happy being me. I don’t want or need to be anything different than what, who, and how I am.
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Assil…or Lissa Backwards in Bizarro World

  1. TammyeHoney

    April 19, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    The grass may be greener on the other side till you get there, but either side it still has to get mowed. Great story and thank you for the ping back.

     
    • Lissa

      April 22, 2013 at 12:26 am

      You’re welcome. My version of that statement is a little crude so I didn’t post it.. Usually if the grass is greener it either has more weeds or there’s more fertilizer… and you’re right, both sides have to be mowed. 😀

       
      • TammyeHoney

        April 22, 2013 at 12:33 am

        The shiny tower on the hill always looks great from afar till you own it and find all the leaks…

         
      • Lissa

        April 22, 2013 at 12:37 am

        😀 My husband and I have both been cheated on in prior relationships so when we first began talking one of the first things we talked about was the whole “Grass always looks greener on the other side,” thing…I’m a firm believer in tending your own yard and part of that means you water, fertilize, nurture, and spend time working on it, if both people are working on their yard together then they’re not even paying attention to the neighbor’s… 😀

         
      • TammyeHoney

        April 22, 2013 at 12:41 am

        My hubby and I are both in second marriages that the first ended not by choice for either of us… I agree with you that the strong foundation in your own yard makes it such a wonderful place that there is no place like home. 🙂

         
  2. Creative Mysteries

    April 20, 2013 at 9:10 am

    I like to entertain myself thinking about what an opposite version of myself would be like. It’s fun to think about but in the end, I’m also just happy being me. I’ll seek ways to change myself, my attitude, my values, etc. But I’ll always be me.

    Great post. It started my day off perfectly. 🙂

     
    • Lissa

      April 22, 2013 at 12:25 am

      Thank you. One of the things about getting involved in relationships is that sometimes people want to or try to make you change: whether it is a friendship or a romantic relationship. The key to it is that we walk into it liking them the way the person is not how you want him/her to be. I had to learn to love and like myself. I will always be a work in progress. I’ll always strive to learn more, to be a better me, and to be a happier and healthier me, but I’m not trying to change myself into something I’m not–just trying to be a better version of the me that I am. 😀

       

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions4u

Digital Marketing, Blogging and Technology

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

{:de}Der Luftfahrt Blog{:}{:en}The Aviation Blog{:}

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

