RSS

The Differences

05 May

“Writing is a lonely job. Having someone who believes in you makes a lot of difference. They don’t have to make speeches. Just believing is usually enough.” ~Stephen King

Mr. King is right. Writing IS lonely, and having someone who believes in you makes one hell of a difference. Over the past twenty-two months having Mr. Rockstar in my life has made a difference. Differences I wouldn’t have believed. If someone had asked me a little over two years ago if I thought I’d ever start writing again, really writing–working on a novel and actually believing in myself and my talent as a writer–I’d have said “Probably not.” I’d have eventually started writing on my own again, I wrote some of my best poetry when I was depressed, angry, frustrated, bitter, lonely, alone, scared, and/or miserable. But writing short stories or working on a novel was put away as a dream, one of those dreams deferred, because I had lost faith in myself and my talent.

When I began this blog I realized how much I missed writing. Once the wedding was over and I had some free time on my hands I found myself with the desire to write again. Not just the blog, but a story. And not just a short story but a novel. I played around and wrote a few chapters for about 3 novels but I put them away because I still didn’t have the faith in myself necessary to write a novel and finish it. Mr. Rockstar changed all of that. Not only does he believe in me, believe that I have talent and want to read what I write, but he believes that I am more than capable of writing a novel that others will want to read.

I’m not saying I have the kind of talent that will win literary awards, that I could ever win a Pulitzer, but I have the kind of talent that could write the kind of novel that the average Joe would want to read and like, that someone who enjoys a good book would want to read, maybe even the kind of talent that might place my book in some publisher’s hand one day.

He’s supportive in a variety of ways, but one of the most important ways is that he sees my writing as work, honest work. He believes that it’s important and that I should stay at it. He asks me how my writing is going, and during Camp NaNoWriMo he asked about my word count. He gave me high fives. If I was writing he didn’t bother me. He accepted that there were times when I needed to write and wasn’t able to socialize or even spend as much time with him…He even rearranged our bedroom so that we could put my desk in there so I had more privacy than in our dining room, which is where it was before Camp.

He’s made the difference in my confidence and if it weren’t for him I’m not sure I’d have had the faith in myself to pursue my dream–I think I might have left that dream deferred for a long time, maybe permanently. Having him believe in me has made such a huge difference in my life. I’m so very blessed and thankful. I hadn’t realized how lonely writing could be until I began to get serious about it. I hadn’t realized how much of a job it would be either. Not only am I writing again, but now I’m reading more about the craft of writing, as well as reading for pleasure in a whole new way. And as I write each word and I get in that zone I realize after it is over that I’ve forgotten to put the clothes in the dryer or I forgot to take the meat out of the freezer for dinner or I didn’t hear the phone ring…But he understands and doesn’t remotely hold it against me. When I end up taking a long nap in the middle of the afternoon because I was up late writing he will cook dinner and he doesn’t complain.

For the first time in my life I know what it means to have someone truly believe in you and support you.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Differences

  1. 1WriteWay

    May 5, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    What a wonderful tribute! My husband was the same way during Camp: checking my word count, celebrating when I hit certain milestones, leaving me alone when I needed to be. And he doesn’t even like fiction 🙂

     

What do you think?

 
Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Digital Dimensions

Blog about blogging and digital marketing

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Pilotstories

Der Luftfahrt Blog

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

TheWriteBurgessTaylor

Writer, Blogger, Artist, Journaler, Coffee Addict

Blue Monkey Writing

Living a Blue Monkey Life in a Brown Monkey World

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

Magical Mayhem

This is My Blissful Blog all about our flintstone family, Me, Sexgod, Angel, Cherub , Georgie my lovely labrador and all the fantastic family fun & awesome adventures we have together :)

A Round of Words in 80 Days

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have A Life

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Wide Awake But Dreaming

Slip into my thoughts and do watch your step

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Life Is Like That

In between times, seeking the extraordinary in the ordinary

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

She writes books...

Just another WordPress.com site

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emilie Hardie

Dedicated writer since 2013

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

Coffee and Curse Words

Your daily dose of caffeine and truth

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

