RSS

My little slice of Earth

20 Feb

Daily Prompt: A Plot of Earth You’re given a plot of land and have the financial resources to do what you please. What’s the plan?

dream homeI’d have a log cabin built, with 5 bedrooms, 3 1/2 bathrooms, a study/library, family room, living room, and music room (gotta have that for Mr. Rockstar so he and his friends can jam in it) with a garage. (Five bedrooms so that our three kids (between us) would each have a room to stay in when they visit) and a guest bedroom.) I’d want a large kitchen, with lots of cabinets and storage space. I’d want butcher block counter tops. I’d like for the master bedroom to have plenty of room for our furniture, with room to walk around so I don’t have to squeeze through the small space between the foot of the bed and the edge of the dresser (like I do now). I’d want a walk-in closet of my very own with a vanity. And the master bathroom would need 2 sinks with lots of storage space and a walk-in shower and a jacuzzi bathtub big enough for the two of us. I’d, of course, want a garage and a pool in the backyard.

weeping willowAlong with plenty of space for my garden, and the large 2 person hammock tied to two of the large trees not far from the pool but not too close (we don’t want leaves in the pool). cabin library

I’d also want to make sure that I had a small pond on the property with a little bench under weeping willow tree so that I can sit on my bench under my tree and read and watch the fish jump in the pond. I’m not really big on cutting down trees, especially oaks, so I’d want to maintain as much of the natural land as possible. Part of what is so amazing about my plot of earth, my small slice of heaven, would be that it’s my sanctuary. I can read while sitting on that bench by the weeping willow, or I can write in my library/study. I will provide my own veggies and herbs from my garden, and I’ll be able to do so naturally.

kitchen1-log_homeI will also be able to look out of my kitchen window and enjoy the view It would be so wonderful to have my first sips of coffee while looking out that kitchen window. Then I’d grab a yogurt and a bagel for breakfast. Afterward I’d get the morning paper and read it while I sip coffee. I’d enjoy cooking in that kitchen. There would be room to move around, and my washer and dryer would have their own room–they would not be in my kitchen–Like they are now. Nope, I’d have all new stainless steel appliances in my kitchen. And I’d have a laundry room.

But I’ve gotten off track, now I’m talking more about my dream home than my plot o’Earth. So let me get back to the other stuff. Since I have a grandson having a play area for him is of the utmost importance. I’d have to get him a swing set, a sandbox, and a few other yard toys for him. He’ll be able to have a great time in MiMi’s yard. And that would cover it, I think. Mimi’s little slice of Earth would definitely be paradise for all of us. Friends and family welcome.  swingset

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2013 in DPChallenge, family, home, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “My little slice of Earth

  1. terry1954

    February 20, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    wow, what a dream house, can I come visit??? LOL
    thanks for the ping back my friend

     
    • Lissa

      February 20, 2013 at 7:13 pm

      The weeping willow tree with the pond and the bench is a must for all who need to relieve some stress. 😀 You’re quite welcome!

       
  2. gegebearbear

    February 20, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    Sounds great!

     
    • Lissa

      February 20, 2013 at 7:14 pm

      Thank you. 😀

       
      • gegebearbear

        February 20, 2013 at 7:47 pm

        🙂 ….Jill

         

What do you think?

 
meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Critical Dispatches

Reports from my somewhat unusual life

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Damyanti Biswas

For lovers of reading, crime writing, crime fiction

Go Jules Go

Author. Blogger. Chipmunk enthusiast.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

On becoming normal when life with MS is a beautiful mess

readful things blog

The search for meaning, one page at a time

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

Restitution

A Story of Survival Against All Odds

marginalia and such

sidenotes on life, writing, & the little things

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

septemberspace

A great WordPress.com site

Dragon Bite Books

Book Reviews by A Used Book Seller

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

N.L. Riviezzo ~ These Words I Scribble

Poetry, Writing, Creativity, Art, Inspiration, & Well-Being

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Ilene On Words

The Power of Words

valeriu dg barbu

©valeriu barbu

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

A Girl's Wishes

Hi everyone. I am a 16 years old girl who wants to share the things in my life, both bad and good. So you guys can learn from it.

Grown Up Book Reports

Book reviews with a healthy dollop of snark