RSS

Happiness is all about your perspective

06 Mar

stormyAt 3 A.M. I  was awake and listening to the storm outside. It was raining so hard I could hear it pelting our roof and the windows,  and the wind was making that rattling sound against the windows. I was the only one awake in the house. I couldn’t sleep because of the noise and because of the pain.

Mr. Rockstar was lying in bed lightly snoring. I kissed his forehead and got up out of the bed and headed to the kitchen. I poured myself a glass of milk and then checked my email. After checking my email, and then FB, posting something on FB, I opened my folder in MS Word and began writing. I’m working on a novel. I wrote for about an hour and then realized if I made coffee now then it would still be good when Mr. Rockstar woke up (his alarm is set for 4:30 but he usually hits the snooze button repeatedly until around 5). So I made a pot of coffee and went back to writing. ‏irish proverb about a good laugh

However, I kept getting up and stretching because of the pain. And my tooth began to hurt again. DAMN! All the complaining. Damn all the pain! Damn! Damn! Damn! I thought to myself. I hate complaining. I hate being in pain and I feel like I’m beginning to sound like a broken record. So I tell myself, “Be patient. Have some compassion for yourself. It’s not your fault you’re uterus is filled with tumors. It’s not your fault you don’t have insurance…” Then I think, “Ah, but it is. If I had a different job, or a real job… then I’d have benefits.” And I’m already hearing that from Mr. Rockstar, “Baby, I’m sorry I’m not doing a better job of taking care of you…” And I know that he’s already feeling down about the whole thing. So I try hard not to complain around him, I save the complaining for my writing–sorry, those of you who actually read my blog.

Better daysSo I pour myself another cup of coffee and take 800mg of Moltrin. It won’t get rid of the tooth ache or the pain in my uterus completely, but it will ease it off. I listen to the sounds of the storm bellowing outside and go back to writing. I’m on page 27 of my novel (I’ve tried several times over the past month and I’ll get to about page 20-50 and realize it’s not really what I want, where I want to go… but this time I actually made an outline, and I actually have a character and plot diagram of sorts (thank goodness for index cards) so I feel good about it). I realize while I’m writing that I’ve let the pain get the better of me. I’m in pain most of the time, yes, but there’s more to my life than the pain. I’ve ostracized myself from outside activities because any time I do something, even something as simple as cleaning part of the house, if it requires actual physical activity like bending up and down, walking quite a bit, standing for awhile, etc then I’m all but incapacitated the next day. So I’ve begun to pace myself when it comes to cleaning or doing anything.

HappinessIf I put off doing the things I want to do until after I have surgery, which won’t happen until we have health insurance, then I’ll be waiting…Waiting…WAITING my life away. I refuse to do that. I’m a doer, a go getter, a busy bee…I prefer to be doing something. This is wreaking havoc on me mentally, not just physically. So what to do? Hide from the world? Stay in the house except to go to the grocery store or to run errands. Visit family and friends on occasion. I can’t do that. I have a grandson that I need and want to spend time with. I have a family. I have friends. I have a life outside of this pain that I would really like to get back to. So what do I do?

when you're in painI figure out ways to be happy and energetic while in pain. I remember to appreciate the small things. I look at all the blessings I have in my life and remind myself of those while I’m in pain. So I’ll continue to pretend to be okay even though I’m in pain until I can no longer stand it…that way Mr. Rockstar doesn’t realize how badly I hurt all the time, nor do others. This whole thing really irritates me because there are people out there who are able to have surgeries like the one I need with assistance even though they don’t have health insurance, yet I am unable to do so. And we’ve priced private health insurance and we simply cannot afford it. It’s to the point now where the best thing we could probably do is wait until the pain is so intense that I have no choice but to go the doctor again or back to the emergency room and maybe they’ll order an emergency hysterectomy and then we can just make payments to the hospital once it’s over. We’ll most likely be paying the bill for the rest of our lives but at least it would be done. It’s such a shame that a country such as the United States can spend so much money helping other countries but people in our own country are suffering.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2013 in decisions, family, Happiness, Health, home, life, little things, love

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Happiness is all about your perspective

  1. dmauldin53

    March 6, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    Sending loving, unpainful thoughts your way! “HUGS”

     
    • Lissa

      March 7, 2013 at 7:11 am

      Thanks 😀

       
  2. purpleborough

    March 6, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    I don’t “like” that you have pain but that you hit the nail on the head. The USA can send billions to other countries but nothing for those of us in this country. How incredible is that.
    Find a Hill-Burton Hospital. They have to take you whether you can pay or not. I had a friend who paid $10. a month until they finally just wrote it off so don’t wait; go to the nearest ER and have those pain free days to enjoy your life.

     
    • Lissa

      March 7, 2013 at 7:08 am

      They have one about an hour from where I lived. I just checked. So I’m going to find out some more information on it. Thanks.

       
  3. The Savvy Senorita

    March 7, 2013 at 4:51 am

    I am shocked you are waiting so long for the op, I thought the UK NHS system was terrible. I really just want to say, you have inspired me – “If I put off doing the things I want to do until after I have surgery, which won’t happen until we have health insurance, then I’ll be waiting…Waiting…WAITING my life away. I refuse to do that. I’m a doer, a go getter, a busy bee…”
    Wow, so many people would just give up, an excuse to do so, to hide away and retreat. The thought of waiting a life away makes me sad and quite sick; so happy you are choosing not to.
    Bex :).

     
    • Lissa

      March 7, 2013 at 7:10 am

      I was diagnosed in Dec with uterine fibroids. The tumors are about the size of golf balls, and there are a number of them. They’re trying alternative means right now to see if it will help, but it’s not really helping much. I go back to the DR next week so I’m going to talk to them and see what we can do.

       
      • The Savvy Senorita

        March 7, 2013 at 7:37 am

        Oh my goodness, that sounds awfully painful. I certainly hope they can do something more effective to help your pain.

         
  4. Lissa

    March 7, 2013 at 7:14 am

    Thank you. I was thinking and writing and it hit me that lately I’ve been getting closer and closer to hiding away and I just can’t and won’t do that. Sometimes we just need to get our thoughts together, and that’s what the post was about. The US needs to do something about their healthcare system, and it’s not force people to buy it, it should be available to everyone regardless.

     
  5. Multifarious meanderings

    March 7, 2013 at 12:52 pm

    Crikey. Sending hugs across the big pond to you. I’m amazed that the US can spend so much on helping solve conflicts abroad before taking care of the basic rights of their own nationals. I thought Obama promised that everyone would have health care? Suddenly the French system seems ridiculously generous in comparison.

     
    • Lissa

      March 7, 2013 at 12:56 pm

      We’re all going to have to have some kind of healthcare or be fined, but for those of us who don’t qualify for Medicaid or Medicare and who can’t afford private insurance,or whose jobs don’t provide benefits…We’re still screwed. My husband mentioned moving to Canada last night, lol!

       

What do you think?

 
meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Critical Dispatches

Reports from my somewhat unusual life

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Damyanti Biswas

For lovers of reading, crime writing, crime fiction

Go Jules Go

Author. Blogger. Chipmunk enthusiast.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

On becoming normal when life with MS is a beautiful mess

readful things blog

The search for meaning, one page at a time

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

Restitution

A Story of Survival Against All Odds

marginalia and such

sidenotes on life, writing, & the little things

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

septemberspace

A great WordPress.com site

Dragon Bite Books

Book Reviews by A Used Book Seller

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

N.L. Riviezzo ~ These Words I Scribble

Poetry, Writing, Creativity, Art, Inspiration, & Well-Being

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Ilene On Words

The Power of Words

valeriu dg barbu

©valeriu barbu

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

A Girl's Wishes

Hi everyone. I am a 16 years old girl who wants to share the things in my life, both bad and good. So you guys can learn from it.

Grown Up Book Reports

Book reviews with a healthy dollop of snark