RSS

Cupid’s Arrow

14 Feb

Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow

It’s Valentine’s Day, so write an ode to someone or something you love. Bonus points for poetry!

Our first date, first kiss!

Our first date, first kiss!

Last year it was our first Valentine’s Day together and we were both broke at the time but we each wanted to do something nice for the other. The only thing I could think of that wouldn’t cost any money was for me to write him a poem. So I sat at my desk, without internet that was coming in on a regular basis, and promptly looked for some inspiration creative musings through some of the pictures of us. I came across the first picture of us that was taken together. And then I began to write.

 

 

 

My Valentine,

That night I saw you, laughing with your friends,

laughter twinkling in your eyes, genuine from the belly

Kind of laughing, and

I felt like I should know you, or at the least

Get to know you,

You had the most beautiful blue eyes

and you were smiling and friendly,

And my friend says, “Oh that’s David…

He can sing…He’s one of the nicest guys

You’ll ever meet.” And I thought,

I want to meet him. Surprisingly enough,

Me, ask about someone, want to meet them…

Later it would all become clear

I was destined to see you, to meet you.

You were to become the love of my life.

I never knew real love until I knew your love,

You opened my eyes, touched my heart,

Made me laugh on the inside and the out,

Made me want tomorrow and forever. And

I still find myself staring at you

When you’re laughing, or working on something,

or singing and playing your guitar,

And I know that the love I feel for you

Is like no other, you’re the one I waited for,

Hoped for, even when I did not think it possible.

Even when I had no hope I’d ever love or be loved.

My serious, intense person needed you,

Like a flower in the fields needs sunshine,

I needed your laughter, your spirit, your smile.

I need you today, tomorrow and forever,

You’re my funny Valentine.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2013 in DPChallenge, love, Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Cupid’s Arrow

  1. terry1954

    February 14, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    that is so precious and thanks for the ping back!

     
    • Lissa

      February 14, 2013 at 2:43 pm

      Thanks, it was the rough draft, and I’ve never went back and edited it…but he loved it just the way it is so I kept it as is. LOL! Well, I just went back and edited it. 😉 Hope it’s a little better now.

       
  2. djmatticus

    February 14, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Cute! Lovely poem. Hope the two of you have a very happy Valentine’s.

     
    • Lissa

      February 15, 2013 at 3:50 pm

      Thank you. We had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!!! 😀

       

What do you think?

 
meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Critical Dispatches

Reports from my somewhat unusual life

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Bali Tours

Bali Best Activities And Tour Packages

Damyanti Biswas

For lovers of reading, crime writing, crime fiction

Go Jules Go

Author. Blogger. Chipmunk enthusiast.

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

McWilliam Media

Invincibility is the best Identity...

Woman Of Many Interests

By: H. J. Dobson

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Thin spiral notebook

My journal of big words and pretty pictures

wednesdays

as and when days

Rebekah Wolveire

In the mind of a Writer

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

On becoming normal when life with MS is a beautiful mess

readful things blog

The search for meaning, one page at a time

CheffoJeffo

Hi, I'm Jeff Dick. This is me exposing myself.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

[ adriejf writes. ]

writer by night. victim advocate by day. waitress at heart.

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Old Herring Detective Bureau

Knaresborough Mysteries - A Novel about Lady Matilda Arkwright

Restitution

A Story of Survival Against All Odds

marginalia and such

sidenotes on life, writing, & the little things

Random Acts of Writing

and other tidbits of thought

septemberspace

A great WordPress.com site

Dragon Bite Books

Book Reviews by A Used Book Seller

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

N.L. Riviezzo ~ These Words I Scribble

Poetry, Writing, Creativity, Art, Inspiration, & Well-Being

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Ilene On Words

The Power of Words

valeriu dg barbu

©valeriu barbu

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

A Girl's Wishes

Hi everyone. I am a 16 years old girl who wants to share the things in my life, both bad and good. So you guys can learn from it.

Grown Up Book Reports

Book reviews with a healthy dollop of snark